Day 102 - I just couldn't get things right! - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

August 10, 2023

Day 102 - I just couldn't get things right!

One of the best things ever is the paper map. Spread it out, gaze at it, run a pink marker over it. That's how Cora and I planned our ride across America, using state maps. I was craving one today when Komoot put me on a goat track. 

I got a good start - gorged on bread and bananas and papaya and was on the road at a good time. The navigation was simple: ride to the second river, cross, turn right. 

What a splendid stand of timber!
Heart 4 Comment 1
John GrantIf they're seasoning them they'd need to be rotated a few times !
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Here's the first river
Heart 4 Comment 0
And here's the second river.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I crossed the bridge, looked down a lane and thought, "that doesn't look right". I did the obvious and cycled a few hundred metres up the road to see if this caused concern to Komoot. It did! Things then got amusing. I stopped in a random place, to check my whereabouts. It just happened to be near a playing field where a teacher was instructing a bunch of school children. Well, I completely disrupted whatever was going on. But, all good; we practiced some English and then had a photo session.

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

With that done, I turned around and made the left turn onto the narrow concrete road.

I can tolerate this for a few km.
Heart 5 Comment 0
I have always liked bridges.
Heart 5 Comment 0
The road's a little rough but the scenery is good.
Heart 4 Comment 0
I can walk a couple of kms and use some different muscles.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Back to concrete; things are looking up. Actually, it's a steep descent.
Heart 5 Comment 1
John GrantYou need to pave the steep bits to avoid the corrugations getting impassable!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
This is where I popped out.
Heart 5 Comment 0
This was exciting!
Heart 5 Comment 0

I've learnt in these places never to rely on one geographic opinion.  I got several along this route, including from these fellows.

They wanted my photo; I asked for theirs.
Heart 5 Comment 0
They play the beautiful game everywhere.
Heart 4 Comment 0

It was a few kms from this junction to one with a major road. It was midday, I had done 28 kms and a hunger was ascending. I had a snack and started on a long ascent through rather nice scenery.

Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Apple guava. There are many varieties of fruit that often look remarkably different but are all Psydium guajava.
Heart 6 Comment 0
And here's a new game: identify the plant.
Heart 5 Comment 2
John GrantI'm going for ginger, galangal or tumeric . . .
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ian WallisTo John GrantI'll pay that!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Indian or African, I like them.
Heart 5 Comment 1
John GrantI've got nothing for this one Wal.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

Eventually, I conceded defeat and acknowledged that cycling would be so much easier after a meal.

My vendor of the day and her son.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I got to the top of the hill and then got a terrific descent - steep and twisting. It took me most of the way to Margaluyu. By then it was 3.30 and, when I saw accommodation, I conceded defeat on a day that did not go to plan. I don't even have a bicycle or a truck of the day so it will have to be wires today.

Why use one pole when five will do?
Heart 5 Comment 1
John GrantThere's definitely more to be done on this job, judging by the extra cable looped up there !
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
I stopped at this bench and then realised that I was surrounded by wires.
Heart 5 Comment 0

And here's a few photos from Margaluyu.

Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
The food I try to avoid. Each bowl contains a pre-cooked food item - chicken, fish, tofu, tempeh, vegetable, that gets placed on rice at any temperature.
Heart 4 Comment 2
Graham SmithIt’s interesting that this style of restaurant has spread so widely within Indonesia (from Padang in Sumatra) but unlike Yum Cha, doesn’t seem to have become an international phenomenon. Not yet.

When I was taking groups to Java & Sumatra, we found that reputable Masakan Padang restaurants were excellent for feeding a large group fast and cheaply. Especially on road trips.

Dozens of small servings of various dishes in individual serves/bowls were laid out. We only paid for those which were eaten.

We didn’t have any mass food poisonings from these or other types of styles restaurants in the seven years of study tours. Possibly thanks to the knowledge of locals who directed us.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ian WallisTo Graham SmithI agree, Graham - convenient, cheap, I haven't got sick, etc. But, I am riding a bicycle and I'd love more options than the same items at room temperature with rice. Thats the typical fare along the road. Larger pla es are different. I eat several times a day and would love something different. Vegetables seem in short supply. In Vietnam and Thailand, you get an excellent stir fry with a great range of items. Malaysia has outstanding food. Here, a nasi goreng has a few strands of vegetable and a bit of cucumber on the side. In my opinion, Indonesia does not compete on the food front.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
My salubrious accommodation.
Heart 3 Comment 0

The day reminded me of meeting a French fellow in Osh, Kyrgyzstan. Michel had lost the papers for his motorcycle, but wasn't overly concerned. We have a saying in France, he said "tomorrow's another day". 

Today's ride: 65 km (40 miles)
Total: 7,551 km (4,689 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Graham SmithI have to disagree. It appears that you got today’s ride very right.
Such a variety of roads, scenery and, most importantly, positive interactions with many local folk. Especially with the students. That was great.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago