Day 100 - a lazy 100 on day 100. - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

August 9, 2023

Day 100 - a lazy 100 on day 100.

I asked for a big breakfast and I got it. The diversity of food is one of the advantages of being in a tourist hot-spot, not that there are many tourists about. 

That's fuel: two large, hot banana pancakes smothered in chocolate sauce.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Thank you Rinjani Homestay!
Heart 4 Comment 0

I should have gone further on this, but I got a late start after writing a Pedal Power article, something I find tricky on a phone. Also, I did stop a lot for happy snaps. It was a day of easy cycling through paddy, coconuts and bananas with many river crossings, mostly on dodgy bridges, and occasional glimpses of the sea. It was certainly one of the more pleasant days I've had on the Indonesian leg of this journey.

The pleasant surrounds and relatively quiet road may explain why they hold this event here.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I think that pictures describe the day, so here's a thousand of them rather than a hundred words.

I didn't have to go far before another...........marlin roundabout.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Soon I was out of town and in greenery. That's the word to describe the day: "green".

An excellent surface with a spectacular drop from the edge.
Heart 4 Comment 1
John GrantThat would certainly keep you concentrating !
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
The electioneering posters suggest a key location.
Heart 4 Comment 0
I crossed the river that flows through the famous green canyon. I was surprised not to see tourists here.
Heart 4 Comment 0
A typical scene
Heart 4 Comment 0
There's nothing like a handyman's delight in a paddy. I'd start by ordering a truck load of bamboo.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

I saw a few things that made me smile today.

A recycling centre - mainly plastic bottles, I think.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Motorcycle delivery person required. Must weigh less than 45 kg and have a sound understanding of physics.
Heart 5 Comment 1
John GrantMagnificent ! A tribute to the suspension of that bike !
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
It's terrific seeing children flying kites. Paddy fields are ideal places in this wiry country.
Heart 4 Comment 0
One person mowed; the rest just kept marching.
Heart 4 Comment 0
I think this is the first Pandanus I have seen since the Northern Territory.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Another of those incredible nets. It was hard photographing from the bridges today because they shook when almost anything passed.
Heart 4 Comment 1
John GrantSame principle as the Vietnamese ones Ian. I find the light attractant ingenious.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Yes, it's very pretty and a great idea for celebrating independence but IT'S PLASTIC!
Heart 4 Comment 0

I've mentioned already that I occasionally touched the ocean today. Here are a few ocean-related photos.

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
I'd really like to get my boat out. It's the blue one on the inside, second row.
Heart 4 Comment 0

As always, there are the vendors. They tend to be women but today my banana vendor was a man.

Heart 4 Comment 0
This woman knocked me out a terrific lunch, several cups of tea and a fine coffee. It was her idea to pose near my bike.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Now, here is a mystery photo for those of you who "like looking over the fence".

Heart 4 Comment 4
John GrantOooh that's a good one Wal ! One of them full of water, some with holes and one with stakes showing . . . Were they just 44s or something else ?
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ian WallisTo John GrantJohn, I don't want to give too many clues but, yes, they're 44's. Ian
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ian DouglasTidal traps for shellfish?
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ian WallisTo Ian DouglasNo, but very good!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

As I mentioned yesterday, I feel as though I have neglected trucks and wish to do better. So here is the truck of the day.

Who, on earth, came up with the English phrase? It's priceless!
Heart 4 Comment 2
John GrantIt'd be a big claim to be the best and I'm sure you could have stood one or two more logs up in the back corner. Honestly is definitely the best policy Wal.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
John GrantTo John GrantI like the bicycle deflecting rails between the front and back wheels !
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

And now it's time for the bicycle of the day.

The green pedals and the suspension won the day.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Now, a prize to Ian for picking up on this suspension. It leaves me wondering, however, that if it is so good why don't all bikes have it?
Heart 4 Comment 3
John GrantIan, is the suspension just on the fork braces and relying on the fork itself to flex ?
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ian WallisTo John GrantJohn, that's my take on it. Are they a thing for rough roads or solid tyres or something? Ian
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ian DouglasOr is there travel in the head tube?
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

If you don't hear from me again it's because ingesting large quantities of snake fruit causes toxicity. I've just eaten a kilo while writing this blog.

Today's ride: 110 km (68 miles)
Total: 7,376 km (4,580 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Graham SmithIan it’s looking as if the south coast of Java would be a good area for a short, relatively comfortable, unepic cycle tour.
Excellent reconnaissance by you.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ian WallisTo Graham SmithGraham, after today, I would say no. The scenery was good, the cycling hard with relentless undulations, the road good, relatively little traffic, but so many loud motorcycles that it spoiled my day. There's a whole industry here to make motorcycles as loud as possible - remove the muffler and fit an expansion pipe. It's simply unbelievable that the population can be subjected to this noise. Why support it? Let's cycle somewhere peaceful.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Graham SmithTo Ian WallisAh yes. The small motor bike syndrome. I remember it well from cycling in southern Italy and the Peloponnesus.
My theory is the riders are reincarnated Harley riders. Their kharmas probably ran over their dogmas.
I’m yet to work out why noise is so prevalent in hotter climates, and seems to abate in countries closer to the poles.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago