Saarbrücken - Around Europe in 80 days - CycleBlaze

September 12, 2017

Saarbrücken

I continued on the Glan Blies cycle route. It really is a pleasure to use it.

When I got to Homburg, I took the main road towards Saarbrücken. There is a cycleway next to it all the way, so it is safe.

After St Ingbert, I took the Visavis cycle network, which was again an absolute joy to ride.

I struggled to keep warm the last few nights. I would wear 4 pairs of socks, 2 pairs of pants, 4 short sleeve shirts and a wind breaker.

During this night there was a strong wind and my tarp would bang loudly against my tent. At one point I had to get up to re anchor on of it's corners. That involved crawling out of the tent and putting my shoes on.

The next morning was cold and rainy, so I stayed in my tent until the boredom eventually drove me out.

I was tired of camping. And I was worried about the colder weather that was forecast for the next few days. So, when the rain briefly stopped, I decided to pack up and leave.

After only 8 km, the rain started and it did not stop. Eventually, I made an Airbnb booking and had to walk 5 km in the rain to get to the host.

My first view of the Saar river
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 65 km (40 miles)
Total: 1,116 km (693 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0