The 'Air' in AirBnB - Around Europe in 80 days - CycleBlaze

September 14, 2017

The 'Air' in AirBnB

Early in the morning, I made an Airbnb* booking at a host that looked interesting.

On the way there, I stopped at the Völklingen ironworks. In the early 1900s it was the leading steel smelter in the world. Tragically forced labour was used during both world wars. And, after each world war, Germany temporarily lost ownership of this facility as part of loss of ownership of Saarland. This very complex history makes it a world heritage site.

When I eventually arrived at my host, I rang the bell, but no one answered. So I sent him an email. Some time after that, Airbnb issued me with a refund. Something was wrong and I had to find alternative accommodation before the cold weather makes me ill.

Eventually I stayed at an hotel 5 km away at more than double the price. Airbnb* said the host clicked on a setting without understanding the potential implications. Neither Airbnb* nor the host have offered me any compensation so far!

*: Airbnb is short for "Air-bed and breakfast", although not all hosts include breakfast in their price and very few give their guests airbed s to sleep on.

Today's ride: 45 km (28 miles)
Total: 1,161 km (721 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0