Mainz - Around Europe in 80 days - CycleBlaze

September 4, 2017

Mainz

The road to Bingen is a UNESCO world heritage site for the castles and the vineyards. And my research showed that the Stolzenfelz castle is the best place to visit. So I was disappointed when I arrived there at half past ten, only to find that they are closed on Mondays.

So I headed towards Bingen, taking in the delightful scenery.

After Bingen, the terrain is flat again. Tonight is the first time I'm camping right at the water's edge.

Movable type was invented by Johannes Guttenberg in Mainz. It enabled newspapers and cheap books, sparking the first media revolution. So I visited the museum there.

A cruise boat and some vineyards on very very steep ground
Heart 0 Comment 0
Two ships pass each other at the Lorelei rock.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Picturesque Oberwesel
Heart 0 Comment 0
This paddle steamer was also head up the river and I saw it several times.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This metal cast at the entrance to the museum. It can be used to print flyers.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 87 km (54 miles)
Total: 778 km (483 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0