Frankfurt - Around Europe in 80 days - CycleBlaze

September 5, 2017 to September 5, 2017

Frankfurt

The 'main' river is much smaller than the Rhine, so I hardly saw and boats. But there is a lot of industrial activity next to it.

On Wednesday my rear wheel felt a little flat. When I pumped it, I saw two of my spokes were broken.

So I rode to the nearest bicycle shop. They opened only at 10am and it was only 9am. Then next two shops could not fix it on the day. The fourth shop either closed down or the map was plain wrong. Finally the fifth shop could replace the spokes it in a few hours.

I only gave in the rear wheel and left rest of the bicycle locked to a bench in a park. I later wished I removed the tire and tube as well, because I suspect they have the tube a slow puncture.

While the wheel was in for repairs, I tried to sign up for the bicycle rental service in Frankfurt. It would have worked well for the short sightseeing and shopping trips I wanted to do. But I could not complete the process because I could not receive SMS s.

In the afternoon, I washed my clothes by hand. But there was too little sunshine and the only way to dry the clothes was to wear them for 10 minutes or so. Brrr!

On Thursday I went sightseeing.

This weird bicycle bridge is at the Caltex industrial area on the 'main' river.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I'm 200m above ground! (Main tower building)
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Jewish museum in Frankfurt is closed for renovations. So they made this popup museum for a week??. A fan keeps the bubble inflated. I went inside but was told to come back tonight when it was open for the public.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 87 km (54 miles)
Total: 865 km (537 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0