Days 7-11: Familiehøjskole - Around Denmark with Kevin - CycleBlaze

July 10, 2023 to July 14, 2023

Days 7-11: Familiehøjskole

Every three or four years members of Dea’s extended family on her father’s side, the Jacobsen’s, meet up for a week of “family high school.” It’s a chance for everybody to get together and take part in various activities or workshops over the course of a few days while living together at a type of Danish boarding school. It was my first time this year and I was probably a little apprehensive at first, but it turned out to be a brilliant time.

Heart 6 Comment 0

There were probably close to 100 people in total, mainly the family of Dea’s father and his two siblings, but also some friends that were brought along as well. There were people and kids of all ages and all of them coming with a good attitude that made for a very nice atmosphere. There were lots of activities to choose from, like baking or video making or soap bubble blowing, but I mostly chose sports, and had a lot of fun playing beach volleyball and tennis, badminton, hockey, and football. I was certainly keeping my fitness levels up and I even went for a couple of runs, including on the last night when I ran 11 kilometres in a little over an hour and felt great. It’s so nice that I got some running form back so fast.

Kevin multisporting.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Dea pretending to be a horse.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Dea’s brother Johan ready for some golf.
Heart 3 Comment 0

One activity that might surprise one or two was that I also took part in building a soapbox car. Usually I don’t like to have anything to do with cars but these were powered by pushing and I thought it might make Kevin happy to see his dad build a car. There is nothing Kevin likes more than to look at cars, point at them, and say “car!” I knew my child might rebel against my anti-car stance, I never expected it to happen so soon.

You might be a little too young to drive though son.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Anyway, along with Kevin’s uncle I turned out to be pretty good at building cars, and we even took first place in the race on the final day, with me pushing the car over the finish line just ahead of the next team. It was a lot of fun, like so much of the week had been - for me, and for Kevin too, who seemed to get so much out of it all. A special experience, to be sure. 

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 17 km (11 miles)
Total: 230 km (143 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0