Day zero - Amsterdam and then ... - CycleBlaze

July 2, 2012

Day zero

Departure date has rolled around, and fortunately the train doesn't leave until 10:45 p.m. For many good reasons, I didn't even start to pack until today. Last night I was feeling just a bit apprehensive about the late start of preparations but still was able to sleep very well. I figured I should have enough routine to enable me to get the right things in my bags in the course of the day.

Just a few hitches. One was that I discovered only yesterday, a Sunday of course when the shops are all closed, that the key to remove the battery from the e-bike had broken off. When and how it happened I don't know. Not heeding the rain, I headed for the bike shop this morning as soon as it opened. To my great relief the lock could be replaced. It is rather crucial to be able to take the battery on and off the bike since it has to be charged at night in our hotel room.

The other little surprise was that I discovered that the fridge was still quite full. During the week I had continued to shop as usual, but I hadn't continued to cook. The result was a greater quantity of vegetables than we could consume on our last day. The solution was to cook a great vegetable stew and freeze it for when we return from our trip. Time consuming, especially when you consider I hadn't packed yet!

Fridge overload
Heart 2 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltGood idea to make a vegetable stew to freeze! :)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

But I'm not quite as disorganized as it sounds - or at least I consider myself efficient, even if my organization left something to be desired this time around. I have everything under control, found time for my journal and we have hours until we to leave for the train station.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0