Alsace or the Alps? - Alpe-Adria Tour 2018 - CycleBlaze

Alsace or the Alps?

The ride from Munich to the Adriatic was something I had wanted to do for a long time. I had seen videos and found it fascinating. But both my husband and I thought it was probably something we wouldn't be up to. What were we worried about? Rough trails, steep gradients, and we left it at that. Actually, we had purchased the Bikeline bicycle guide for the Ciclovia Alpe-Adria several years ago. But we hesitated.

For August, we had planned a trip to the Alsace region in France, good wine, good food, picturesque villages - it sounded appealing. But somehow we never worked up a lot of enthusiasm for the trip. On one occasion Janos mentioned something about the kitschy villages there full of tourists. I think that was it - I wasn't interested any more.

Then our granddaughter Miriam came to visit and announced she was going to ride her bicycle to Italy, her first tour. I warned her that many roads in Italy aren't favorable for cycling, no shoulder, heavy traffic and the Italians weren't as accustomed to sharing the road as drivers are here. No problem, she said, she wanted to ride the Alpe-Adria bicycle path. Wow! yes, do that! I gave here our Bikeline guide and our blessings.

Not long after that, Janos suggested - in a joking tone - that if we weren't keen on Alsace, how about the Alps? I knew he meant the Alpe-Adria bike path. I said yes immediately, not joking. I also knew that in recent years the path had been improved and many rough parts were now paved bicycle paths. We still weren't sure if the route might not be too difficult, but we consoled ourselves that we could always turn back if it got to be too much. And it was obvious, if not now, when? Janos turned 80 this year, I'm two years behind him.

Heart 5 Comment 2
Kathleen Joneslove love love these two intrepid touring cyclists
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Suzanne GibsonYou made my day, Kathleen!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Heart 4 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Scott AndersonHooray! I’ve been hoping you’d write up this tour. Looking forward to it.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Scott AndersonWriting up the trip now is kind of an effort - but it's also an effort to write every day while traveling as you do! I'll be keeping the narrative short I think. One of my reasons for not publishing while on the road, aside from the fact that I'm tired at night, is that I like to process my photos before I post them.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago