Day 39: - Not so grand finale, but a finale nonetheless - Aimless - CycleBlaze

July 28, 2013

Day 39: - Not so grand finale, but a finale nonetheless

I had just texted my friend Marylou, who was babysitting my cat, "I will be home Monday or Tuesday," I said. And then I fired up my computer to book a bed at the Marin Headlands Hostel. There had been tons of beds for tonight, and I even called the manager last week who said, "It's wide open on Sunday and Monday."

Except when I looked this morning on the website it said that nothing was available! Grrr.

So, I finished my coffee and ate my cheese danish and thought for a while. I'm a deep thinker, as you know, so it took another cheese danish to come up with the solution to my problem.

I got out my phone to re-text Marylou... "I changed my mind, I am coming home today."

When I drove home from Utah I didn't feel like the trip should end like that. But now it felt right. There was no reason to pay for a hotel to see a place that I can see easily another time. The campgrounds there were full and I didn't really want to stealth camp. Under the circumstances, there seemed no point.

So I got on my horse, I mean The Trucker, and headed for the ferry building. When I saw the skies over Marin, and the thick fog, I realized I had made the right decision. It was time to go home.

The day was lovely, actually, and once I got to Vallejo it was sunny and nice, with a monster tail wind. There is something special about ending the trip by riding down your own street and onto your driveway. A trip can't always end like that, but it's nice when it does. It really was a fine trip.

I will be writing a few more entries with some final thoughts and ramblings, and some reviews of new gear that I had on the trip.

Until then...

Ain't that a beautiful sight? :-)
Heart 0 Comment 0
From the ferry. This guy was absolutely FLYING because of the wind speed.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 62 miles (100 km)
Total: 1,673 miles (2,692 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0