Day 38: - What is that orange glow in the sky? - Aimless - CycleBlaze

July 27, 2013

Day 38: - What is that orange glow in the sky?

Sun! WOO-HOOO! It started out grey though, and there was a lot of grumbling at the hiker-biker site this morning.

"Do you think it will be sunny and warm once we get south of San Francisco," some of them asked me?

Heck, I didn't know. Based on all the weather reports I thought it was supposed to be sunny the past 2 days. Still, I didn't want to burst there bubble. "Probably," I said, knowing I would never see them again and would have to answer to no one.

Still, I was hoping it would be nice. For them and for me. And once I got to Drake's Bay it was. In fact the weather was perfect. Sunny. Not too hot. Not too cold.

I ran into the three Amigos, the young civil engineers from Mexico, several times. They had some bike trouble and stopped at one of the shops in Point Reyes Station.

I rode slowly today. Enjoying the sun. Sampling delicacies from the various bakeries. Plus general lollygagging. After all that I ended up at the Samuel P. Taylor state park hiker-biker site.

When I arrived there were about 5 other cyclists, and more trickled in all evening. Unlike last night, where most riders seemed to be on a long trek, many of the riders tonight were simply riding from the city to enjoy one night of camping. By bed time we were over capacity. But no body minded. It was a great atmosphere.

What struck me was how different everyone seemed. There were young people, old people, hippie-ish people, white people, black people, people riding in cycling clothes, people riding in blue jeans, experience bike tourers, and a young woman on her first trip. But we all had our bikes in common, and a love of riding to a nice place and camping, even if the adventure was only for one night. It's too bad people with so many differences in other walks of life can't get along so well.

Tomorrow the plan is to head to the Marin Headlands.

Until then...


On Drakes Bay
Heart 0 Comment 0
The fog started rolling in around 5pm. It never amounted to much at the campground though.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The hiker biker site. This only shows some of the tents.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 49 miles (79 km)
Total: 1,611 miles (2,593 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0