Day 15: Moki Dugway - Aimless - CycleBlaze

June 26, 2013

Day 15: Moki Dugway

Ive been looking forward to riding the Moki Dugway from the start. I saw some other Crazy Guys riding it and I just had to ride it myself. It's over 2 miles of gravel switchbacks. It is kind of like the Swiss Alps as far as the switchbacks. Well, except for the fact that it is not green here, it looks like it hasn't rained in years and its hotter than hell. But aside from that...

I rode as far as Mexican hat. Since Ive become accustomed to starting my rides at, or close to, sunrise to beat the heat, it was early in the day when I arrived and time for lunch. I stopped at the only game in town, restaurant wise that is. And I know I am now on "The Rez" because Navajo Fry Bread has made its first appearance.

The menu was a choice between your standard fare of hamburgers and stuff, but also some navajo food. I had the beef stew and it was delicious. Home made with veggies, and of course it came with fry bread. Ate the whole thing.

Then, since it was sweltering hot and early in the day I went next door to the San Juan Hotel. I just couldn't deal with camping today. The San Juan is not a bad price and right on the San Juan River. After a nap I was a new person, not that there was anything wrong with the old one...

Then, for dinner, I went back to the diner, and had another round of beef stew. With ice cream for desert of course.

Tomorrow is Monument Valley. Until then...

Heart 0 Comment 0
The approach was a long stretch of ups and downs, UPS and downs, UUUUUUPS and downs...
Heart 0 Comment 0
i stopped to pee along the the side of the road and look at what I found. The remains of an old 7UP bottle. I wonder how old it is? Anyone have any ideas?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Then it was time for the switchbacks! WOOOOO-HOOOOO!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The view of the valley road from near the top. I would be there soon.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Still going down
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 666 miles (1,072 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0