Day 14: Bridges - Aimless - CycleBlaze

June 25, 2013

Day 14: Bridges

Today was a slog, I ain't gunna lie. But as so often happens, it ended on a high note.

The ride from Hite Marina to Natural Bridges Natural Monument was hilly, hot and with headwinds. A Triple-H....hey, I just made that up! Clever, eh?

Anyway, it was only 52 miles but I felt pretty shattered by the time I arrived. But I managed to pull myself together and find a campsite, and as I started setting up my tent I heard something like (because I don't remember exactly), "Hi, where are you riding?"

It was Cindy, from Seattle, and she and her husband Chris, and their two boys Oliver and Elliot were camped in the site next to mine. It turns out they are cyclists too, and rode a tandem in Italy for their honeymoon.

"We are just having pasta, but you are welcome to join us," she said after about 20 minutes of chatting. That sounded WAY better than my dehydrated meal.

We had a great chat. The boys are really smart, and very interested in the local history and geology of the area. When I was their age I was still eating dirt and wondering about the historical significance of The Flintstones.

And living in Seattle, they think like me. They even have a Nissan Leaf, like I am thinking of getting.

After dinner Chris was telling me about some of the sites on the loop around the park...

"You know," I said. "I may have to skip that one. It would take too long in the morning and put me on the road too late in the day."

"Well we have a car," Chris said. "Why don't we all go now? And Cindy didn't see some of the sites this afternoon."

So, off we went. We saw some the natural bridges and a really nice grainery. And I don't mind telling you that the road was hilly. It would have taken good part of the morning for me to ride it.

We all had a really nice time and it was really fun to meet them. The only thing is, I forgot to ask their last name! So, Cindy and/or Chris, if you read this, what is your last name?

I arrived at the campground shattered. And it sure turned in to a nice day.

Heart 0 Comment 0
What a cool family! And I hope you had fun at Hovenweep and Mesa Verde!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Near Hite Marina in the morning
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
This is Dave, from Chicago, riding Cross country east to west
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
One of the sites at Natural Bridges Monument
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 52 miles (84 km)
Total: 624 miles (1,004 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0