Day 56: Yaamba to Marlborough - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

April 11, 2021

Day 56: Yaamba to Marlborough

Start: 7:15am
Distance: 74kms
Ride time: 5:06hrs
Average: 15km/hr
Max: 33km/hr 
Finish: 2:30pm

Yesterday, I chose a nice grassy spot in the shade for my tent. I failed to look up and notice the big light above the tent.

It came on automatically at 6pm. This attracted the insects which were all over my tent. I even had a couple cane toads turn up for an easy feed.

To show you how bright it was, this is a pic of my bike without using a flash.
Heart 5 Comment 1
Veronica JoinerOh No. Should always look up. Next time.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

I was too lazy to move the tent and I wasn't too bothered by the light.

It was a little foggy this morning which meant I packed up a soaking wet tent.

And my clothes that I hung on my bike to dry were also damp.

This bird was feeding on the insects that had fallen in the grass.
Heart 3 Comment 6
Bill ShaneyfeltMight be an apostlebird.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Apostlebird
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Annie O'SheaIt is an apostlebird lots them around that neck of the woods and not really afraid of people
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyTo Bill ShaneyfeltWell done Bill! My mum identified it too.
I'm grateful for all of the time you put in to identify things. Thanks.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Vince McCarthyI like to look up nature stuff. Got a Zoology degree from Arizona State U in '69, but ended up an Explosives Safety guy. Frustrated nature lover now retired for 12 1/2 years, I've been looking stuff up for cycle tourists on this touring site and cgoab for a number of years. I know how hard it is to keep up a journal let alone take photos and post them, and on top of that, dig around the internet to find IDs. My last bike tour (Heart Attack Comeback) posted on the other site in 2011 still has many photos without IDs, but since hitcount dropped to near zero after finishing the ride, it became pointless.

Thanks for the great nature photography!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you for sharing Bill. You're definitely a treasure to both sites. Thank you!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

I couldn't identify this bird.

Bill and Mum later identified it as an apostle bird. Thanks guys.

The foggy morning cleared within the hour.
Heart 3 Comment 0

And then it became hot. I'm not coping well with the heat these last few days.

In the middle ground of this pic is the Kunwarara Mine.
Heart 4 Comment 0

They are mining for Magnesite (MgCO3).

Later, I was at a rest stop when a motorbike rider came up to me to chat. His first words to me were: "Geeze, you look knackered."

I had only done 20kms for the day and I was already struggling to turn the pedals.

Some hills on my left.
Heart 7 Comment 0
More hills in the distance. I hope I don't have to climb them.
Heart 3 Comment 0

The terrain was mostly flat so all was good.

I slowed my pace and had lots of rest breaks and drank lots of water.

There was a servo 5kms before I reached Marlborough. I bought a couple of cold drinks and some lunch. 

While I was consuming it, this blue-faced honeyeater was jumping around. It had a nice tweet.
Heart 9 Comment 0

Blue-faced honeyeater. Wiki says they are colloquially known as the bananabird.

After I had rested, I slowly peddled the last 5kms to the Marlborough Caravan Park. 

$15. A fair price.
Heart 6 Comment 0
A great sunset.
Heart 11 Comment 4
Deleted AccountThat's an awesome sunset Vince
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Cheryl IvesBeautiful photo of a beautiful sunset Vince.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyThey're free and they're great. You're sunrise and sunset pics we're great too!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyCheers Cheryl.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

Tomorrow will be a rest day for my weary legs.

Today's ride: 74 km (46 miles)
Total: 2,697 km (1,675 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0