On the bike in Konstanz - Swiss roots but no Large Hadron Collider - CycleBlaze

August 8, 2019

On the bike in Konstanz

Ready to tour at Radwag Reisen
Heart 0 Comment 0

Rain turned into a perfect day! The ABC Constance provides a wonderful European breakfast to start the day. I opted to walk the 2 KM to Radweg Reisen, my bike tour provider, after breakfast. My first in-person contact with this company went pretty well. My bike was ready to go, as was the bikes of my touring companion. It is equipped with a large touring handlebar bag with a waterproof map holder, waterproof pannier, and hand pump. The pannier had a spare inner tube inside. One of my companions had a full repair kit in their pannier. One repair kit is provided per touring group. I took a test drive and found it to be in pretty good working order. 

A view of the marina at Konstanz harbor
Heart 1 Comment 0

The Radweg Reisen representative was friendly and helpful. He answered every wqestion well and was quite accommodating. The rental facility was clean. It was obvious that this is a major bike rental/tour provider in the area. There were hundreds of bikes in the garage and a staff of mechanics working in the bike shop. 

One of the countless cobblestone streets to wander
Heart 1 Comment 0

My companions an I were off to a day playing tourists in the old town section of Konstanz. This is a very bicycle friendly city. The ABC Hotel is just a few blocks off Peterhauserstrasse which crosses the Rhine and becomes Schottenstrasse. I can best describe this route as a bicycle superhighway into the city. The road is shared with cars with bikes outnumbering the automobiles. It is a safe route into the the heart of Konstanz.

A view from the bell tower of Sankt-Stephans Kirche
Heart 0 Comment 0

It took a typical tourist loop through the city. We started at the harbor and watched a large ferry bring 100s of people to the city. The streets were busy with tourists as we wandered the cobblestone streets. It is easy to see why this is a popular tourist destination. The buildings have a definite German fairytale look and feel. There are countless restaurants and shopping spots, as with most tourist destinations. 

Bier and schnitzel on the Rhine
Heart 2 Comment 0

After a dinner of schnitzel and beer, my touring companions and I were off to our hotel to plan out first day of cycling. This was my first chance to look at the Radweg Reisen tour documents in detail. I must say they are done up very well with clear directions and mapping. Attractions along the way are noted with good descriptions. Tomorrow's ride involves a ferry ride. Our voucher for the ferry and a time schedule was included. The  documents are nicely bound to fit into the the bike's handlebar bag map holder. 

I regret that I did not take photos of the bike and it's touring setup. I will do that tomorrow and include it in my post. Tomorrow's ride takes us to Stein am Rheim via Insel Reichenau. The weather forcast is for a sunny warm day, perfect for cycling.

Today's ride: 5 miles (8 km)
Total: 5 miles (8 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0