First attempt at completing TEMBR - "It keeps getting better" - CycleBlaze

October 22, 2022 to October 29, 2022

First attempt at completing TEMBR

It being a Saturday, I met another cyclist out for a weekend. He rode with me from Azugues to outskirts of Cuenca and along the way bought me some tender coconut to quench the thirst but also mentioned how he’d been hit by a car sending him to hospital for a month or two. He’s brave enough to get back on his bicycle as soon as he recovered. So, he cautioned me to be careful when I ride. This again reminded me of how safe TEMBR was. I made a second stop at Panilandia, the bakery trying to satiate my cravings for some "city" food after having spent a month in the mountains of Charon Ventanas. 

Salma and I at Laguna..
Heart 0 Comment 0

On 22nd, I was fortunate to accompany a friend, Kash, on another hike that turned out to be one of the most beautiful and memorable. Kash’s dog I had gotten to hike with, know a bit and fallen in love with, would die of seizure some 30-40 days later. So, the time I got to spent with her were truly memorable and precious.

Wildflower (rumilanche, bunbun, cucharilla or algil) on the hike
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Giant man trying to ride my fatbike..
Heart 1 Comment 0

After a lot of dilly-dallying, the next day I hit road around noon and made it to Tarqui on TEMBR. This is important because had I taken the Pan-American, I would have had to share the road with trucks and cars. While on TEMBR, you see few other people and traffic.  

Next morning, I left early and had a “humanity/TEMBR” moment when a stranger, Marcos stopped and gifted me $5. Don't ask me why. In return I gave him all I could "afford" to give away, a mandarin and then we chatted a bit. He’s truly a profound soul and said how he doesn't know where I come from but knows that the same sun shines everywhere. This "uneducated villager" is way more educated than I ever will be. A friend in Cuenca had gifted me a pocket bible and Marcos deserved it more. So I gifted him the pocket bible.

Marco who taught me some humanity..
Heart 0 Comment 0


Then I rode to Jima which reminded me a lot of Angamarca.

Next day I rode TEMBR to Nabón and this was a beautiful day of TEMBR riding with lots of ups (walking the bike) and downs (holding on to brakes, dear-life)..:-).

Cicada shell left after emerging from underground before emerging as an adult and flying away. Thanks to Bill for telling me what this is..
Heart 0 Comment 5
Bill ShaneyfeltCicada shell left after emerging from underground before emerging as an adult and flying away.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TXQZTegrC_I
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Bill ShaneyfeltCicada shell left after emerging from underground before emerging as an adult and flying away.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TXQZTegrC_I
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Girish HemashettarTo Bill ShaneyfeltHello Bill, thanks a bunch for addressing my ignorance..:-) I kept wondering how the animal/insect's skeleton stayed glued to the tree.

It being shell of a Cicada makes sense. Thanks again..
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Bill ShaneyfeltAlways glad to help!

Nature is my second nature...
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonI would have told you this too if I’d read this soon enough. When I was a boy in West Virginia I kept a ‘cicada ranch’ of these shells, tucked into the nooks in the bricks of our house.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Then I rolled on to Oña with a big climb to Saraguro. So lots of walking here but met a 57-year old cyclist who was cycling up the mountain in spite of his age. I just walked up all that mountain.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Then I rolled on to Oña with a big climb to Saraguro. So lots of walking here but met a 57-year old cyclist who was cycling up the mountain in spite of his age. I just walked all that mountain. Heading into Saraguro, I met a local professor who was running up the hill before you get to Saraguro. 

Next day, I left Saraguro to ride through the mountains before I came across the tortillas de chocolo stand in San Lucas where I ate 6 fresh ones, as the abuela was made them fresh. Then TEMBR takes a hard left and follows a river on a dirt road. This route is truly scenic and is very undulating by going along the river, valleys before hitting outskirts of Loja. In Loja, I met a Hare Krishna bhakta/Yogi/cycle mechanic in the Parc Jipiro. I camped the night there as it's legal to camp in public spaces in parts of South America.

Next day, I packed up my bike and was about to hit the road when I saw an open air Zumba class. I had to join it and stretch my legs.

Sunset at Podocarpus
Heart 2 Comment 0

Then I hit the road before running (cycling) into a ciclista, Vinicio, who said he’d guide me to Vilcabamba but instead guided me to a heaven for Orchids-Birds, Parc Nacional Podocarpus. I went to the National Park hoping to spend a night which meant I’d to wait a bit longer to officially complete TEMBR which was some 25km away.

Another shot of sunset at Podocarpus
Heart 2 Comment 2
Scott AndersonWow. Wonderful composition.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterType your comment here
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Today's ride: 120 miles (193 km)
Total: 1,701 miles (2,737 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0