Day 69 Moran Wy to Lake Lodge Cabins - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

July 19, 2023

Day 69 Moran Wy to Lake Lodge Cabins

It was a long day with over 3500 feet of climbing, my longest day yet. It was impossible to find a place to camp with an RV in Yellowstone N .P. but Peter managed to get a cabin with 2 queen size beds. We’re sleeping in luxury tonight and Henry gets his own bed! 

The day started out with a nice ride through Grand Teton N.P.  At the entrance, the park attendant asked me for my card and I told him my husband had it back at the campground so he waved me through and said “Have a nice ride!”  That senior’s pass has sure paid for itself. 

Oxbow Bend
Heart 3 Comment 0
Jackson Lake
Heart 4 Comment 0

The wildflowers were mesmerizing- such a variety. And the air was heavy with the scent of the lodgepole pines. I saw a female moose but couldn’t get a good picture in time. 

I stopped at a convenience store and met two bike packers doing the Great Divide Mountain Bike Trail. The young man had just recently had to replace his wheel. The young woman had started in  Prudoe Bay, Alaska!

I passed a Backroads Cycling tour van setting up a water/ refreshment stand for their riders. He offered me water and snacks but I passed as it was at the bottom of a four mile climb. Afterwards I passed a couple on a tandem going south taking off from their support bus. We wished each other a good ride, then I stopped to talk to their driver/ support person Janine. She loves her job as she gets to go to great places and get paid for it. This year they’re going to Cabo San Lucas and are raising money for a children’s cancer center there. 

Heart 1 Comment 0

Soon I was approaching the Yellowstone National Park South Gate. It was very crowded. As I was waiting in line, I saw a bunch of Backroads cyclists just go around so I did the same. 

So many people
Heart 1 Comment 0

I finally made to the Continental Divide. I forgot to mention that the nice shoulder in the Great Teton NP disappeared?  You really have to put your faith in humanity in these situations. Shortly after I saw Peter parked at a lookout. Henry howled and then drank water. Peter says he doesn’t drink while I’m gone. 

Heart 3 Comment 3
Susan WelchCongratulations!!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Susan WelchThanks Susan!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
This delightful bug landed on me and didn’t want to leave
Heart 3 Comment 5
Scott AndersonHey, I just saw this guy up in Canada! He really gets around!
https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/tasummer23/to-nelson-the-kettle-river-ride/#48273_0644pei3yrsluv3jpnzav4a82y2
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltA long horned woodboring beetle. Might be a white spotted sawyer beetle.

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/82043-Monochamus-scutellatus
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Scott AndersonVery friendly little fella!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Bill ShaneyfeltVery interesting Bill! Glad I never had to lay eggs in a dead tree.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Charmaine RuppoltThat's a huge bug!!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

I turned off route and rode 20 miles to the cabin. We ate hamburgers in the Lodge. My second hamburger of the year. It never tasted so good. My salad was also delicious. I think it was my state of hunger. I slept like a rock. Henry did too in his own queen size bed. 

Some of the many wildflowers:

Obedient Plant
Heart 2 Comment 0
Missouri Goldenrod
Heart 1 Comment 0
Dalmatian toadflax
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Golden Eye
Heart 1 Comment 0
Indian Paintbrush
Heart 1 Comment 0
Royal Penstemon
Heart 2 Comment 0

My favorite was the purple bellflowers that frequently grow by the side of the road; they helped me climb. 

Today's ride: 75 miles (121 km)
Total: 2,508 miles (4,036 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0