The Last Day - Tailwind and Navigational Buffoonery - The Revolution Starts Now - Mr. Grumby Takes on the Great Divide - CycleBlaze

July 11, 2023

The Last Day - Tailwind and Navigational Buffoonery

Barbara Nye and John at the ranch talking to Sarah from Colorado
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heading out
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 0

Lisa, Sarah, and the Spokaners and I left the comfort of the Llama Ranch together, and soon they continued on the proper route while I split off to ride the highway to Helena. If I remember correctly, every time I choose the highway, or works out exceptionally well.

At Zack's recommendation I stopped at the Canyon Creek store, which I think is also the post office. Friendly people and a friendly dog, and a delicious Starbucks Double Shot. 

Heart 4 Comment 0
If you could only see the tailwind, it would look like puppies and Oreos and Velveeta and Tom Petty...pure joy.
Heart 5 Comment 1
Gregory GarceauVelveeta? It just doesn't fit in with the other examples of joy.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

I felt the glory of a tailwind pushing me, and before long I was cruising along at 20mph without even trying! I felt like Lance Armstrong, but much less assholey than Lance Armstrong. I was flying. 

I enjoyed this serendipitous push for 25 miles or so until I hit Helena Dam road, which wasn't on my route. Shit. I checked the map, and sure enough, the turn to the hotel was about 6 miles back. Against the wind, like Bob Seger. And, as I turned my trusty LHT around, the benevolent 20 mph tailwind turned into an evil 20 mph headwind from the pit of hell. Defeat snatched from the jaws of victory. The once-friendly gusts sucked the happy out of me, and I quickly lost my cherub-like demeanor. 

The moment when I realized my error. It was like when you sit down to watch the 3 Stooges and it's a Shemp marathon.
Heart 5 Comment 3
Gregory GarceauNOW you're back on track. To me, Shemp = Velveeta.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ron SuchanekWe can disagree on Velveeta as long as we agree on Shemp.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

I trudged along, cursing my idiocy, but encouraged by the fact that I had a comfortable room ahead of me. The 6 miles took a little over an hour, and then I headed south towards the hotel, another 6 miles with a strong crosswind. But finally I reached the hotel, a Wingate that was undergoing major renovations. My room was brand new and so enormous that I  could have played racquetball in there, if I had a racquetball.

 I cleaned up, made a couple of calls, and then walked over to a little pub where I had a  massive hunk of chicken fried steak and a delicious IPA. On the way back I got a chocolate shake from the diner across the street, then went back to nap. 

Bikepacker food
Heart 3 Comment 0

July 12- Uhauling to Stevensville 

I took an Uber to the U-Haul, picked up the truck and drive to Stevensville, Montana to meet my neighbor Oregon Mike, who drove out to see a friend in Spokane and to pick me up. We stayed at my Uncle Chuck's house, although he was gone fishing, and had dinner with Cuzzin Charlie and his wife Oriana.

I'm transporting the LHT and a bunch of air.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Sunset from Uncle Chuck's deck
Heart 5 Comment 0
Uncle Chuck's dog loved Oregon Mike.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0

We left the morning of the 13th, stopped halfway, and, suddenly, I was back home in Silverton. I was happy to be home to be with friends and family, and sad to be off of the trail for now. 

Tasty French toast at The Riv, in The Dalles, Oregon.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I'll post a wrap up next. Thanks for reading!

Today's ride: 49 miles (79 km)
Total: 604 miles (972 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 14
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Scott AndersonThanks for taking us along, Ron. I enjoyed it from top to half-way to the bottom. Hopefully you’ll take us the rest of the way down next summer.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Rachael AndersonIt’s great to see another entry from your great divide trip!
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Scott AndersonThanks for reading. I'm looking forward to getting back out there, and to following your adventure in Spain.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Rachael AndersonThanks for reading!
Reply to this comment
7 months ago