Glenwood Springs - Eagle, CO - Big Mountains, Small Towns. - CycleBlaze

June 4, 2022

Glenwood Springs - Eagle, CO

Heart 0 Comment 0

You know that recent forum post about losing your entry? I was one of the people who said to hit save  and continue editing every so often . . . .  I swear I did hit save, but none of my text is here at all. So, here we go again.

Today was our last easy day before the climbing starts. We agreed on a 10 AM departure. Jacinto and I slept until almost 8 AM. He was in no hurry, as he had negotiated a noon check out from the motel. I ate oatmeal with craisins, and pecans. I ate one of the ten apples Jacinto was carrying. That made him happy.

Oren and I had a stiff .5 mile climb to the trailhead, up 5th Street and over to Olive Street. Probably we wouldn't have noticed it, except we were just starting and had cold legs.

Speaking of legs - my hip/leg is much better today. I did some minimal stretching this morning, and could do all of those except sitting cross legged. I no longer have to lift my leg to reposition it if I'm sitting. I did still play the woe is me card, and got Jacinto to put on my socks for me. 

The Glenwood Canyon bike path has been closed for over a year. Two years ago there was a big fire in the canyon. The next summer, a sustained rain caused a series of mudslides. One of them was big enough to close the interstate for several weeks. That was a very big deal. The bike path was also swept away in the mudslide. It wasn't a priority to open, but did finally open just now, in time for Memorial Day. I expected that it would be in good condition, given how long it took to open it again. I was surprised to see overgrown grass and bushes, plus there was mud and sand in many areas. Typically the trail is quite pristine.

It isn't a trail I ride often. If I do drive up valley to ride a path, I take the path to Aspen. This one is usually jammed with people. Many of them are rental bikes that are dropped off at the top of the trail head to coast back to town. 

Oren and I were passed by a group on red E bikes. They passed us early on, rode to Hanging Lake, and passed us again going back. We saw one man on an E scooter. Besides those people, we saw just a handful of cyclists. One rider of note was a self contained rider from England. He started in San Francisco and was headed to Niagra Falls, with a goal of riding 100 miles a day. He had good weather, other than 43 degree centigrade temperatures in Death Valley, and hail at Torrey, Utah. 

Hanging Lake is another area that has been closed because of the the fires and mudslides. I thought I had read they were now open again, with a reservation system. As we passed by, we didn't see a single person, and there was a trail closed sign on the trail. It was delightful riding. Dare I say I was also enjoying the tailwind? 

The path riding came to an end soon enough. Then we were dumped onto Highway 6. There was no traffic for miles, as the road dead ended at the bike path. Eventually the trail did start up again. Jacinto is more familiar with it than I am. It switches back and forth across the road, and disappears in places. Jacinto said he stayed on the path the entire time possible. Oren and I didn't ride it at all, after the canyon.

We planned to stop in Gypsum for lunch. There was a Subway with an excellent, covered outdoor seating area. Score! But, not quite. The line inside was ten people deep and not moving at all. Instead we bicycled across the road to the Kum and Go convenience store. Oren went inside to find something. I didn't go in at all, but parked my bike next to the ice machine out of the way. Who was there but the Englishman! I turned my back to my bike, chomping on an apple while talking. 

When we went to leave, I immediately noticed that my seat pad was missing! Oren helped me look all around, in the rocks, and behind the building. The wind was blowing slightly, but my bike had been tucked in next to the ice machine. Our thought is that a man who was filling a cooler next to the machine helped himself to my seat pad. Nothing else was missing. It's very odd. Was he just being an a**? Looking at my bike, I can see a number of things equally accessible, that would be more desirable to someone. 

The seat pad is a big deal for me. My sciatic nerve likes a little cushion. Plus, that's the side with the current bum hip. I had a bad attitude while riding down the road. Day two, and I was without a seat pad. Did I dare try riding without it? No, I didn't think so . .  .

We ended up stopping at a Family Dollar store. I looked at, but did not purchase a bed size memory foam pad. I could have cut that up. Instead I bought a towel for $3.00. I had used a towel for pad before making the cushion. I am 99% certain that the ice cooler man took the pad. There is just no other explanation. I was no further than three feet away from the bike the entire time. BUT, my back was turned for an extended amount of time while we talked touring. I need to keep my bike in sight. I can't tell you how many times I've left my bike unattended, and never had anything happen. Lesson learned.

We were ten miles down the road, with a nice tailwind. Eagle was quickly in sight. Our lodging was on the opposite side of the interstate, through three roundabouts. I knew where the walking bridge was over the interstate. Oren held the course, and went through all three busy roundabouts. 

At the motel, he went in first. I stayed with the bikes. Soon he poked his head out the door, asking if the reservation was in my name or Jacinto's. Hmm, why would he ask that? Then he said to come inside. Is there a problem? I just called last night and spoke with Joan about an early check in. Joan was there again tonight. She remembered talking to me, but my reservation had been canceled in the AM because they didn't have my phone number. That seems very odd. She was able to rebook me, but the price went up $50. ??? We had some back and forth, and she had to call her boss, but they did end up honoring the reservation price that I had an email confirmation for. 

During all of this, Oren had gotten in his room, but ours was still being cleaned. Jacinto arrived. I had plenty to tell him, with the Englishman, the seat pad, and now the reservation issues. Finally, we got into our room. It is quite small. I thought longingly of the Best Western conveniently located on the correct side of the interstate. I had an excellent room in the new wing of the motel during the fall colors tour. I looked at their website right now. I had a bed and a sofa. That room for tonight is $194. I did originally have a reservation at the Best Western, but changed it in the interest of saving money. 

We shoehorned the bikes in the room. Jacinto has to climb over the bed to get in on his side. He took a shower, and got organized. I don't know what I was doing, but it didn't seem to be moving forward. I hadn't started the journal,  cleaned the bicycle chain, started charging lights, or even showered! 

We went to Oren's room to talk to him about food. During dinner he commented that he had trouble eating enough. I have never, ever had that problem. 

Tomorrow we are staying in the itsy bitsy wayside of Red Cliff, tucked against the side of a mountain, in-between Battle Mountain Summit, and  Tennessee Pass. There's no gas station or convenience store. The lodge does have a store, but a phone call with Chris revealed their food is of the noodles in the cup variety. The Mango Grill is open, 11-7 PM, and serves wraps and burgers. We would need to carry breakfast items, and enough sustineance to get us over Tennesse Pass to Leadville, where we could eat lunch. 

A meandering discussion covered our overnight spots for the next couple of nights, highlighting the lack of food services. The result was the guys walking to City Market. They bought breakfast items for Red Cliff, and chicken strip dinners for tonight. $5.49 for a three piece dinner, with broccoli salad, and brussel sprouts. That was excellent! It was probably the cheapest meal of the trip. I'm all caught up on green veggies for now. 

While they were gone to the store, I showered, cleaned the chain, and wrote the majority of this entry, which I lost. Hell.

When the guys came back, we ate outside at a picnic table, overlooking the town. It sounds nice, but wasn't. There was all sorts of trash around, and a strong odor of pot. There was some sort of music festival across the way. We could hear the music faintly. 

We agreed on an earlier departure tomorrow, to acknowledge the difficulty of the day. I suggested 8 AM, but Oren thought that would be too cold. I think 9 AM might be our time. I expect to climb the pass at 3 MPH. That's my standard. 

Today seemed like a long day, for being so short. I'm glad we still had some riding to do after the seat pad incident. I was out of sorts for awhile. Riding helps. I think the towel will work okay. I've used one before, when I was experimenting.

I've been reading Stephen King's Doctor Sleep. It's a page turner. I'm off to see what happens next.

Our room at the Eagle River Lodge was a tight fit.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Do Oren and Jacinto count as wildlife?
Heart 3 Comment 0
I haven’t seen many flowers so far this trip.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Here’s an area that obviously has flood damage.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This cyclist from England is riding 100 mile days. He started in San Francisco and is head to Niagra Falls.
Heart 3 Comment 1
George HallInteresting - I met a cyclist from England on my Western Express tour, and he was also riding 100 mile days from San Francisco to the east coast. But he had a support crew of 2 guys in a van that enabled him - for instance, he could ride 15 miles past a town to get in his 100 miles for the day, and the crew would pick him up and carry him to town, then bring him back the next morning to start off where he had finished - so his 100 mile days were much easier than this fellow who has to start and stop at places based on lodging or campsites.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
For being closed so long, the path isn’t in as good of shape as I expected. It has lots of overgrown bushes and muddy areas.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto’s photo from the path.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Another one.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The scene of the seat cushion crime. My bike was tucked next to the ice machine. I was never more than three feet away, but I had my back to the bike.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Scott AndersonThat is really disgusting. On the upside it should entitle you to play another woe is me card.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Whimsical carved art.
Heart 3 Comment 0
We have arrived! See my towel for a seat cushion?
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 34 miles (55 km)
Total: 70 miles (113 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Genny FoxYour previous entry was there-I read it. The last sentence said you were eating dinner and would be back…I wonder where in the ether it went???
Maybe a homeless person who really needs a cushion took it. Such an odd theft. Have fun tomorrow!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezTo Genny FoxProof that I did hit save! Thank you.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Kelly IniguezI was glad to see this, because I’ve had this happen before too and I have a theory. Any chance you had the post open in two different edit sessions at the same time? You could have saved your text in one and then saved from the other afterwards, which would have overlaid it.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago