Eagle - Red Cliff, CO - Big Mountains, Small Towns. - CycleBlaze

June 5, 2022

Eagle - Red Cliff, CO

Heart 0 Comment 0

My hip is getting better and better. I slept well last night and could put my own socks on this morning. We met Oren at 7 AM for the motel breakfast. They had breakfast sandwiches, which I dissected for the innards. I ate a couple of yogurts, and an instant oatmeal. That should be enough for a pass climbing day? There was a small tragedy in that their coffee machine ran out of regular coffee. It was one of those fancy machines that you push the button for what you want. The decaf still had coffee. The hot chocolate was working. But no full lead style coffee. The counter girl couldn't figure it out, so marked it out of order. It's a good thing someone brought along their own percolator!

Oren and I were out the door at 8:30. We had an earlier start in deference to the climbing day. I'm sure Jacinto was happy to get me out of the small room, so he could have space to move around and not crawl over the bed.

Today we could ride a bike path virtually all the way to our turn at Minturn. I rode the first 8 mile section almost to Wolcott on the fall tour. After that, we are on highway 6 for a bit. Then there is the Eagle Valley Trail System. Jacinto said he was going to stay on the trail. Jim said it was quite convoluted and they had trouble following it from one side of the road to the other. I remembered it as being difficult to follow. I told Oren I wanted to ride the first section, and then stay on Highway 6, unless traffic was heavy.

We took the pedestrian bridge to Chambers Street. The very first part of the path, next to the townhomes was very bumpy. We skipped that part, turning off of Chambers after the townhomes. 

We saw ground squirrels running across the path for several miles. I wonder if they were all friends or family. Is one mile too far for a ground squirrel to travel? It seemed as if the first section was fairly steep. I was sweating and panting. We talked a little bit, but then concentrated on breathing.

Highway 6 was occasionally visible below us. Finally, Oren could stand it no more. He stopped and gave me his pitch about what a great bike path this was - noting several positive aspects. HIs final point was that he wanted to save himself for the climbing he had to do, as opposed to the superfluous bike path climbing. I knew exactly what he was thinking before he even mentioned it. We got on the highway. Traffic was light this Sunday morning.

We had the morning downslope headwind. The temperature warmed up, and we later had the afternoon tailwind. It usually changes around 10-10:30. Today was on schedule. Jacinto said he had a nice tailwind the entire distance, since he left later.

I told Oren I was ready for the ten mile potty break. I wasn't desperate, but if he sees a potty to stop. He didn't see a potty, but a nice looking bush. I asked Oren if he picked the spot next to the No Trespassing sign on purpose. "What? What sign?" Yes, that sign!

Highway 6 didn't have any traffic at all until Wolcott. Of course, that is right when I pulled alongside Oren to tell him a story. I was so busy telling him about the misery of the climb from Wolcott to Steamboat Springs, that I did not see the truck behind me. It laid on it's horn for an unnecessary amount of time. I was totally at fault though.

We saw a number of bicycle riders out for their Sunday spin. All were go fast types. One couple rode alongside of us for a bit, asking the usual questions. 

I had a much nicer riding day today. We were finally getting into the meat of the tour. I saw aspen trees and skunk weed. 

Oren and I regrouped a couple of times. He typically rides ahead of me and stops periodically to wait for me. Depending on how many photos I take, and how steep the terrain, I'm usually within sight distance.

We talked about stopping for lunch in Minturn. I was against eating a real meal, as the climb would be starting shortly, and I didn't want my body busy digesting food - I need it busy working the leg muscles!

Instead we stopped at the Shell station. I had a V-8 juice to go with my strawberries. Isn't that on everyone's list of food combinations? Oren had a drink and a Snickers bar, in Jerry Harp's honor. He's a big Snickers fan.

From Minturn, we stopped together at the four miles to the summit sign. Then I didn't see Oren again. Not even his taillight. I stopped three times on the four mile climb. One was to take a phone call from tonight's motel - asking what time we would be there. Yes! We are definitely on the way.

I thought traffic on highway 24 to be quite light for a summer Sunday. There weren't many motor homes or trucks pulling toys on trailers. We did see two semis with flatbed trailers loaded with long pipes going the opposite direction. I was happy we were not on the same side of the road. There isn't a shoulder to speak of, after Minturn. Perhaps 6-12", it's often crumbly. It was still an enjoyable climb. The road is very serpentine, forcing traffic to drive slowly. It was a much better climb than over Hoosier Pass last fall. The two passes are roughly in the same area.

There wasn't a top of the summit sign. That's such a disappointment. I was feeling great. I'd had one Hammer Perpetum tablet on the climb, but that was it. Perhaps I hadn't done as much climbing as Jacinto in preparation of the summer, and I have that slightly gimpy hip that is healing. Overall, I counted the climb as a success.

The downhill to Red Cliff was short. Oren was waiting for me at the turn. It was windy and cool, with the elevation. We didn't linger, but headed on into town. Down, down, down into town. The happy little secret is that we can follow the low road out towards Leadville. Oren was sure the road didn't connect, but the check in clerk agreed with me, that is the direction to go.

We have lovely rooms tonight. I splurged an extra $20. to get the suite. Our bikes are allowed in the room. We had to be creative to get our long recumbents into the elevator. The stairwell was narrow, steep, and had a turn in it. The elevator seemed the best choice. Oren made four long trips up to his room, carrying all of his stuff. I made two trips, with the majority of my stuff. Then we got the bikes. 

I was watching Jacinto on Strava, he was close to town. He went straight to the Mango Grill, thinking that's where we were staying also. I kept yelling his name, but finally had to walk over and get him. His bike fit right into the elevator without taking any panniers off. 

I'm sitting outside with my warm jacket on. It's such a cute little space. I'm out on the balcony above the street. I can smell dinner cooking at the grill. I'm being stubborn about going in, but I am cold. Jacinto poked his nose outside and went right back in. I should go see what he is doing.

Dinner is at 5 PM. The Grill has wraps and burgers. That's about it. We are happy they are there. I'm thinking about a double burger! For information - the motel does have a little store. I bet the locals appreciate it. There's frozen pizza and Hot Pockets, noodle soup in a cup, and a few canned items. You could eat from there. I have oatmeal for the morning. Jacinto will probably eat leftovers he's been carrying. 

It was a good day. I hope you got an enjoyable Sunday ride in also.

Oren uses persuasive body language to convince me to abandon the bike path.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Here is a covered bridge. It is prominently marked private.
Heart 3 Comment 0
This piggy at an art gallery in Minturn caught my eye.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Oren purchased his first Snickers bar of the trip in Minturn. It is fuel for the big climb.
Heart 4 Comment 0
A copper clad house?
Heart 1 Comment 0
I’ve learned that switch backs are my friends. They take the bite out of the climb.
Heart 2 Comment 0
A distant water fall was a good excuse to catch my breath.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Now it’s serious!
Heart 2 Comment 0
We had a half mile downhill plunge to the hidden treasure of Red Cliff.
Heart 2 Comment 0
A view of the town from the descent. This is the entire town.
Heart 2 Comment 0
One of these times Jacinto’s bike is going to roll over the edge.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Genny FoxAs precarious as it looks, it is a really nice photo!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
I feel much better than I look.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Genny FoxSounds like the climb was a piece of cake for you - way to go!!!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Genny FoxYou must be feeling very well indeed then, because you look great!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Our corner suite. We are living large tonight!
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 37 miles (60 km)
Total: 107 miles (172 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Rachael AndersonI’m glad your hip is feeling better. Great job on the climb!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezTo Rachael AndersonI'd really like to know the source of this issue. Sciatic nerve has been mentioned. I do have sciatic issues on that side occasionally, but that is more of a zinging all the way down my leg, through my butt. This was completely different. I couldn't walk properly, or lift that leg to the side in any fashion, not even with my toe to kick the kickstand. Lifting my leg over my low recumbent was also an issue. Happily, I can now do those things. The issue resolved in just a few days.

Tomorrow we have another pass. It's about the same total climbing, but we get up over 10,000 feet. I think it is going to be awhile before we are hot again!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Kelly IniguezThat still sounds like a sciatic condition to me. I’ve struggled with sciatica in the past too - it was bad enough at one point that I was hesitant to cross the street in front of our condo, afraid I’d get trapped in the middle and unable to walk further. Paradoxically, I quit having issues like this once we moved to Portland and I started routinely walking a few miles a day. Between that and cycling regularly I haven’t had any significant back issues for probably 20 years.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago