In Paris - Three, Two, One....Tour - CycleBlaze

May 19, 2023 to May 25, 2023

In Paris

I just can’t quit Paris.

 All of my European tours over the past five years have begun and ended in Paris, and each journal documenting those tours, including this one, have several entries on my days in Paris. In the hopes of avoiding too much redundancy in the Paris entries, I’ve often tried to highlight some new perspective or events that seem memorable enough to document. This weeklong stretch before returning to the US was filled with routine chores, catching up on the journal and long walks through some of my favorite quartiers of Paris. It was a week filled with a bit of nostalgia for I place I’ve not yet left, and with thoughts of when I might return. 

A Danish drinking and cycling team tour Paris
Heart 2 Comment 0
Les Invalides
Heart 1 Comment 0
From the Alexander III bridge
Heart 2 Comment 0
My local bakery - I will sorely miss my "baguette traditionne"
Heart 3 Comment 0
The Pasteur Institute - it was during my sabbatical here in 2015 that I grew to know and love Paris
Heart 3 Comment 0
Louis Pasteur
Heart 1 Comment 0
The French Police bike patrol
Heart 2 Comment 0
Jardin de Luxembourg in May
Heart 2 Comment 0
Lady Liberty in Luxembourg Gardens
Heart 0 Comment 0
Pavillon Davioud, Luxembourg Gardens. In addition to housing a school of horticulture, it is the setting for the annual honey festival
Heart 1 Comment 0
A source of the honey - the apiary in Luxembourg Gardens
Heart 1 Comment 1
Kirsten KaarsooThat is interesting.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Lunchtime picnics in Luxembourg Gardens
Heart 1 Comment 0
Waiting for his boat to come in
Heart 3 Comment 1
Kathleen JonesStarting that particular sartorial splendor early, eh?
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Place du Panthéon - surrounded by the Panthéon, the Panthéon-Sorbonne University, and the Sainte-Geneviève Library - I imagined dialog balloons filled with serious thoughts and big ideas
Heart 0 Comment 1
Kirsten KaarsooHaha. They may gut be thinking what should I have for dinner!?
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Église Saint-Étienne-du-Mont
Heart 3 Comment 0
Église Saint-Étienne-du-Mont
Heart 1 Comment 0
Staircase in Église Saint-Étienne-du-Mont
Heart 3 Comment 1
Scott AndersonWonderful. I’ve never seen this one, like so much in Paris.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Checking in on restoration progress at Cathédrale Notre-Dame de Paris
Heart 1 Comment 0
The shape and colorful inlay on this building near Cathédrale Notre-Dame de Paris caught my eye
Heart 1 Comment 0
Closer look at the colorful inlay
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
The Eiffel Tower, tourist boats on the Seine, and classic green boxes of Paris bouquinistes
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
In the Louvre Courtyard. I originally thought the pattern on the museum building was due to the sun and clouds, but as I got closer I saw that it was a pattern of light reflected by the Pyramide du Louvre
Heart 4 Comment 2
Kathleen JonesNever saw that before, either in real life or in a photo. Very cool.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Susan CarpenterTo Kathleen JonesThanks Kathleen - I was pretty amazed when I saw the pyramid reflected in the building and building reflected in the pyramid. A bit mystical- maybe I should write a book :)
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
May in Jardin du Tuileries
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 1
Kirsten KaarsooThe irises will always remind me of the bike tour I have just had through France. There were so many of them in lots of different colours.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
A snack break in Jardin de Tuileries
Heart 2 Comment 0
A small Paris manifestation, or demonstration - this one in support of schools
Heart 0 Comment 0

 

Farewell lunch with Alex and Carla
Heart 3 Comment 0

So, my three act play has ended, awaiting only my return to Paris and an epilogue to wrap things up.

Today's ride: 5 miles (8 km)
Total: 1,172 miles (1,886 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0