In Cordoba - Three, Two, One....Tour - CycleBlaze

April 9, 2023 to April 10, 2023

In Cordoba

My stay in Cordoba was too brief and the limited time I had to explore the city was complicated by the events of Easter Sunday and the fact that my cough was not going away. I did venture forth to visit some of the great historical features that the city offers, and was compelled to wrap up Semana Santa with a final Paso. In between, I rested, had nice long conversations with my sister and Team Anderson, and managed to eat two great and substantive meals. I leave tomorrow morning for the last stretch of the tour, due to arrive back in Granada one week from today.

 It was a glorious day, a clear sky with temperatures warming but not hot. For me, it began with a morning stroll across the Roman Bridge, which spans the  Río Guadalquivir. I lingered on the bridge, taking my time to watch herons hopping from rock to rock in search of food, or perhaps find the perfect spot to bask in the morning sun. As I crossed to the south side of the bridge, the reflections of Mezquita-Catedral de Córdoba and the arched bridge were stunning, causing me to pause and reflect on the historical events and conflicts that have taken place here. And once again I was thankful for all that had transpired to bring me to this place.

Cordoba, as seen from the Roman Bridge, looking down river
Heart 5 Comment 0
Old water mill on the Río Guadalquivir
Heart 6 Comment 0
Looking across the Río Guadalquivir and Roman Bridge towards the Mezquita-Catedral de Cordoba
Heart 7 Comment 0
The Roman Bridge
Heart 7 Comment 0
Torre de Calahorra
Heart 5 Comment 0
Torre de Calahorra
Heart 4 Comment 0
Haloed Angel
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Although I had about reached my fill of processions, it would be remiss not to close out Semana Santa in Andalusia with an Easter Sunday Paso. However, I did not want to be among the throng of onlookers at the nearby Mezquita-Catedral, so I checked with the hotel for advice on the best time and place for viewing the procession. And that is how I found myself at the Roman Temple of Cordoba, built during the latter half of the 1st century. Although the Paso was due to arrive soon, there were only a few people gathered about and I was able to secure a prime spot – a slab bench where I could sit while waiting and stand when the procession passed. As the crowd slowly arrived, it was made up largely of local residents and their families, reminiscent of those I’d seen in the smaller cities over the past week. It is these community celebrations that I will remember as the heart of Semana Santa.

 While the crowd may have had a “home town” feel, the procession itself was grander than those I’d previously experienced. For one, there was a lot more gold – carried on crosses and candles as well as worn by the Penitents. There were more church elders in various clerical garb and scores of children in gold capes, carrying baskets with supplies to assist the Penitents, such as relighting a candle that had accidentally blown out. But there was only a single Paso, the Virgin Mary adorned in white and gold carried on a Paso listing to the left. It all seemed a bit of a letdown. I’d been expecting that the week-long celebrations of Semana Santa would build toward today, the day of Christ’s Resurrection. Certainly there was more pomp and glitter in the procession itself, but the day did not have the energy I'd felt last week on Palm Sunday.

Roman Temple of Cordoba
Heart 6 Comment 0
And the final procession of my Semana Santa begins
Heart 3 Comment 0
There were more children, more gold, and a greater number of Catholic clergy
Heart 4 Comment 0
I witnessed numerous children collecting wax drippings from the candles of the Nazarenes
Heart 4 Comment 0
The size and varied colors of the wax ball indicate a persistent pursuer of wax drippings
Heart 5 Comment 1
Keith AdamsIs there a significance to collecting wax?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
The clergy walking in front of Paso
Heart 3 Comment 0
The final Paso, the only one of this procession, is the Virgin Mary clothed in gold and white, the colors of Easter Sunday in the Catholic Church
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
And the Paso passes, listing a little to port
Heart 2 Comment 0
Costaleros - their work done for another 51 weeks
Heart 4 Comment 0

One of my Moroccan cycling buddies has also been touring through Andalusia and recommended a good eatery along the river – Amaltea. I stopped in for lunch, without a reservation, and though fully booked they offered me a large high-top that seemed better suited for drinks rather than dining. But I was happy to have a seat, and happier still with the meal – a quinotto, a mash-up quinoa and risotto that was both healthy and delicious. After retreating to my hotel for a delightful few hours of rest and afternoon phone calls, I went out to have a look at the Mezquita-Catedral de Córdoba, the Mosque-Cathedral of Cordoba, or officially the Cathedral of Our Lady of the Assumption. The current Cathedral was constructed on the site of the Great Mosque of Cordoba and thus retains its hyphenated name - though I always heard it referred to as the Mosque rather than the Cathedral. Unfortunately for me, the Mosque-Cathedral was closed due to Semana Santa. However, I did learn that it would be open, free of charge, tomorrow morning between 8:30-9:30. 

Triumph of San Rafael at the Gate to the Bridge
Heart 2 Comment 0
Eagle holding oath of San Rafael, stating he is the guardian of Cordoba
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
I believe this is the gate of Saint Stephen, which was originally built as the western gate of the first mosque
Heart 3 Comment 0
I could get only a peak inside the Mezquita-Catedral on Easter Sunday, but I did learn it was open free of charge from 8:30-9:30 tomorrow morning
Heart 5 Comment 0
The Patio de los Naranjos and Bell Tower of the Mezquita-Catedral
Heart 3 Comment 0

Construction of Great Mosque began in 785, when Córdoba was the capital of Muslim region of al-Andalus. In 1236, Córdoba was captured by the Catholic forces of King Ferdinand III, and the mosque was converted to a cathedral. Today, it retains distinctive architectural features of both histories. I arrived at the Mosque-Cathedral at 9 am and was waved inside by the guard. The interior was dimly lit, but I could still appreciate the splendor of the original section of the interior, with row after row of columns with distinctive red and white double-tiered arches. These innovative but somewhat simple designs were in marked contrast to the soaring and ornate features of the Renaissance Cathedral. The juxtaposition of Muslim and Catholic architecture and iconography was somewhat unsettling, and added to my appreciation of Andalusia as a land of two worlds, each which has a very strong religious foundation.

Interior of the Mosque-Cathedral of Córdoba
Heart 7 Comment 0
Another view of the interior of the Mosque-Cathedral of Córdoba
Heart 7 Comment 0
Ceiling of the Renaissance transept
Heart 2 Comment 0
The elliptical dome over the crossing of the nave and transept
Heart 5 Comment 0
Stained glass of Renaissance cathedral
Heart 3 Comment 0
Catholic chapel framed by Muslim-designed double arches
Heart 7 Comment 1
Kathleen JonesAs someone who was also raised Catholic, I find this mind-bending too. I think I prefer the Muslim aesthetic. I had no idea Córdoba had this mosque-cathedral.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Puerta del Espíritu Santo, a door on the east exterior
Heart 7 Comment 0
Puerta del Espíritu Santo
Heart 4 Comment 0
Refurbished exterior
Heart 4 Comment 0

It’s probable that my perspective on Andalusia thus far has been influenced both by my prior trip to Morocco and by the near constant celebrations of Semana Santa over the last week, the latter of which recalled a childhood spent awash in the teachings of the Catholic Church. Religion is not a topic for a cycling blog, but cycle touring can offer opportunities for renewed understanding of historical events and conflicts, which may inform how we perceive conflicts in the modern world, religious or otherwise.  

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Steve Miller/GrampiesIt is now a week later and we really hope your "cold" has improved and therefore your ability to really enjoy your travels. We look forward to reading your updated entries when you get time and strength.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Patrick O'HaraYour last paragraph is well put!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago