San Felipe - rest days - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

January 6, 2022

San Felipe - rest days

I had planned to spend two days off the bike here in San Felipe.  I was expecting a more bustling touristy town.  It was much quieter than I expected, but I still enjoyed my time here.

Not very busy here
Heart 0 Comment 0

The first day, I went down a side street looking at the camping spots and checked prices at a couple of different hotels.  In the end, I realized my hotel was definitely a good deal so stayed put.  I spent way longer than I wanted to trying to sort out pictures from my phone, to Windows One drive, to my laptop to get them on this website.  I think I have the kinks worked out now.  Later that afternoon, I went down to the Malecon and walked the opposite way.  But first, I stopped to buy what I thought was going to be one churro.  Upon closer inspection of the sign, I saw that I was getting six churros!  And yes, I managed to sit on a bench there watching the birds, seagulls, pelicans and others, swarm the boats coming in from fishing.

Yummy churros!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Fisherman coming in for the night
Heart 2 Comment 0

I walked further down and watched the row of trucks pulling trailers, back down the boat ramp so they could get their boats out of the water.  A few pickup trucks came in from the side and I was surprised how far they backed into the water.  I thought for sure one truck was stuck forever, but with multiple attempts at loading the boat, then unloading, then loading and trying again, he eventually got free of the sand.  I was quit a production and I really enjoyed watching the chaos come to order.  I found it very amusing that they drive down the streets with the fishermen still in the boat.  That would be totally against the law in the United States!

Alfred Hitchcock “The Birds”
Heart 1 Comment 0
I was worried this guy would never get out.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was also lucky enough to see the sky turn a variety of pastel colors and I was so confused.  I'm facing the east, the sun sets in the west, yet I still feel like I got a beautiful sunset!  

The actual sunset to the west
Heart 1 Comment 0

I googled how to fix the slipping seat post issue and thoroughly cleaned the clamp, screw and seat post area.  The next day, I figured I'd better go for a ride and see how it was.  I only rode a little bit around town, but it was nice.  Too soon to tell if it's fixed or not, but at least it didn't slip.  I also found the bike shop or as it's called "bike hospital."  I briefly stopped and talked to the guy.  He undid my seat post, wiped it down and retightened the clamp.  I heard it creak and had him stop because I was worried he was overtightening it.  (The bike shop is on the left hand side a bit past the grocery stores on the main road down to the beach.)

Bike hospital
Heart 0 Comment 0

Took my laundry to the laundromat, aka lavenderia.  Better leave here with clean clothes.  It's actually one of my favorite things about Mexico.   Drop your clothes off, pay about $4 and two hours later, come back to a nice folded pile of clean laundry. 

I went to pull money out of BBVA Bank, but the fee was 174 pesos (almost $9 US) plus whatever my bank charges.  What a ripoff.  Luckily I ran into an American and asked them about it and they directed me up to the Calimax grocery store and said to use the ATM on the left.  Much more reasonable fees.  There are two big grocery stores by each other and I had gone to the other one first.  Went in to this one to do some shopping and see what kind of things they had.  Much more organized, clean and more like what I am use to in America.  Got some supplies for the road as I hear the stores I will run across in the coming days are more likely to have junk food/snacks. 

Since it was a Friday night, I noticed the town seemed to be coming alive.  More food carts with some delicious roasting meats, chairs and tables being set out, and just more activity in general.  More what I had been expecting when I arrived.  I went back out later that evening and tried a different taco place.  The waterfront area clearly had a bit more activity, but I almost liked the more seemingly local activity on the main drag up to the stores.  At least the temptation to take another rest day dissipated.  

Yep. Dipped a toe in the sea just to say I did. Not quite warm enough for a swim.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 4 miles (6 km)
Total: 1,198 miles (1,928 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0