Rungwe to Mbeya (Sombrero Hotel) - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

August 25, 2022

Rungwe to Mbeya (Sombrero Hotel)

I got a ride to the top of the mountains (thank God) and I paid for his gas and a little more.  It was beautiful, but the climbs would have killed me.  He actually brought a mechanic with him just in case anything went wrong.  Not going to lie, that had me a little bit concerned for me and him!  

My ride started with about a 6-7 mile pretty much all down.  One little steep climb to get my heart pumping for good measure.  It was beautiful!!  What a perfect note to a pretty much end of my adventure in Africa.  The speed limit in Tanzania is 50 kms (about 30mph.)  My top speed going down was 40 mph!  Zoom!  Zoom!  Now you know why I neede the ride up!

Turned onto the main highway which was a traffic nightmare.  Only swore once as a bus went by me with inches to spare.  Nerves of steel!  I pulled off a lot to wait for semi breaks in traffic or rode on the gravel shoulder at times.  Yes, it was that bad.

I picked the better of the two airlines for a quick flight to Zanibar.  But first I had to get my bike boxed up.  Except there are no bike shops let alone bike boxes.  The owner of the Sombrero Hotel offered  a ton of assistance by having her employees go out with me looking for boxes.  Of course I have to pay for them and they want to overcharge me.  For about $9 US dollars, I got supplies and paid the locals to pack up my bike -- padded with some stuff and shoved into their gigantic grain bags.  Whatever works.  It's padded and protected way better than I could have done myself.  What a relief.  Let's hope Precision Air doesn't trash it!  I still need it to get around Zanzibar!

Even though my last couple of days were short (after my killer day)  it's been a bit of an emotional time for me.  I'm so proud of what I accomplished and stepping so far out of my comfort zone and even getting comfortable at times.  Thankful for all everyone who has helped me along the way in whatever manner, new friends and old friends.   Your support and encouragement have meant a lot.

This photo is from my previous day's ride. It got removed off of FB and I received an account warning as "hate speech." I had to reword my thoughts carefully, "Women do all the hard work. Men do less hard work. Draw your own conclusions." I believe I initially used the phrase, "men are lazy." It's not hate speech, it's just very much a fact about the way of life here.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Wilfred and I at the top of the last pass.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looks like cherry blossoms
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
My favorite sign! Zoom! Zoom! However, the views were so good I had to keep stopping to take pictures.
Heart 0 Comment 0
What a fantastic descent!
Heart 1 Comment 1
Rachel and Patrick HugensI remember riding up this one. It was nice to start seeing the tea plantations.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
I wouldn't stop to take a picture of the men working, but there were tons of places where they were literally breaking the rocks apart with hand tools. Can't. Even. Imagine.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wow! The terrain did change rather quickly. I think I descended down through those mountains in the distance.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I heard many cyclists complain about this road because of busy traffic and a less than ideal shoulder, when it did exist. They weren't wrong. A bit scary and the ride needed my full attention.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Beautiful tree in bloom
Heart 0 Comment 0
The guys "helping" me get my bike ready for my flight. Who am I kidding, I did what I knew was required, ie taking pedals off, seat post off, handlebars. They kind of took over and I was fine with that.
Heart 1 Comment 0
All bagged up and ready to go.
Heart 0 Comment 0
In case I never see my bags and bike again
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 18 miles (29 km)
Total: 3,986 miles (6,415 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0