Rest day at Jan & Mark’s - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

January 9, 2022

Rest day at Jan & Mark’s

Mark and Jan and one of their pups
Heart 2 Comment 0

I ate toast with avocado on it today with a dash of lemon and salt.  I have never liked avocado, I think in part because of the texture.  It was pretty tasty and I might try to embrace avocado a bit more while in Mexico.

Later, Mark & Jan took me for a drive on the beach to a point.  Yes, we drove his jeep on the beach.  It was super fun and I was awestruck with the beach and ocean views.  At the point, we got out and took a walk.  Jan is a sand dollar magnet and collects them for people who visit their home to sign. (My sand dollar pic won’t upload :( 

The point
Heart 2 Comment 0

Mark has one of those fancy kites that you use two hands and pull.  I thought it might be like how you steer your canopy skydiving (which I did back in my youth).    He handed the lines over to me and I did great initially, then it went downhill.  Or more like kite crashing into the sand…repeatedly.  It was amazing how strong the pull of the wind was!

Mark was skilled enough to touch the kite down to the top of the keep and fly it again!
Heart 1 Comment 0

Sat around chatting the rest of the day and they felt like old friends.  Slept for the second night in a comfortable bed and I am always thankful for that and the chance to get quality sleep.

Sunset
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Jan HarrisLoved meeting you and learning about your trip, praying we see you again o another one of them our adventures
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kim JohnsonTo Jan HarrisHey Jan,

Was so greet to meet you guys and hang out. Don't think I'll be back in Baja again cycling anytime soon, but you never know! Thanks again for my "rescue" and hospitality. I still get a kick out of Brooklyn's kidnapped cyclist comment. Take care.
-Kim
Reply to this comment
1 year ago