Outskirts of Lilongwe and into the city (Bridgeview Hotel) - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

July 18, 2022

Outskirts of Lilongwe and into the city (Bridgeview Hotel)

Even though I could have camped for free tonight, I decided to head the short distance into the city for a few reasons.  A) Didn't want to set up my tent, B) there are no stores close by and C) I needed to cut a few miles off my next days ride as it's a long one.

I chose the Bridgeview Hotel which was just okay.  It's not run by locals (people of Indian descent) and their customer service was very poor.  I did get a good deal for the first night and let them know I'd likely stay a second.  Well, the main owner charged a 4% fee because I was using my card to pay.  This, after I negotiated a price.  Petty, but irked me.  I almost moved when they gave me a hard time the second day, but the price was right, it was in a location close to supermarkets and a pizza, ice cream and chicken joint and it would be more hassle to move.  Hard for me to set the "principal of things" aside, but I had to think of what was easiest for me.  I would not recommend this hotel.  

Lots of people selling stuff on the sidewalks.  I did buy some bananas and paid double what I should have.  At least now I know what the price of bananas should be so that won't happen again.

One of my friends volunteered in Malawi years ago and put in touch with Peter, a local guy who works in tourism.  A couple of other cycle friends had also met up with him.  He was nice enough to come over to my hotel and we had a nice visit.  He even taught me a couple of Chichewa words (the local language.)  He was so full of knowledge and has a great visions for tourism in his country.  Can't wait to see more of what Malawi has to offer.  

Peter and I
Heart 1 Comment 0
A local transporting charcoal. These bags are heavy so I should probably not complain about all the gear I'm lugging around
Heart 1 Comment 0

I spent a second night here and I thought it was a good idea to follow the stream of locals to see where they were going.  Later, I noticed Google maps actually says "slum area."  And it was.  I went down to this bridge and crossed it over the river.  The locals had every inch of sidewalk on the bridge filled with goods for sale.  They frowned at my picture taking although I was trying to be quick and inconspicuous.  I decided it's best I not walk into the maze of shacks/shops on the other side of the bridge and headed back.

For sale
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lots of activity in the poor area by the river
Heart 0 Comment 0
Shoes? Who needs shoes?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Or perhaps a new shirt?
Heart 0 Comment 0
A stack of 5,000 dollar bills. I'm rich! Unfortunately, chop off all the zeroes to get the approximate value of the bill in US dollars.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Home sweet home although the personnel at the hotel weren't the easiest to work with
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 9 miles (14 km)
Total: 3,533 miles (5,686 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0