Mazabuka to Kafue (Chita Lodge/camping) - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

July 7, 2022

Mazabuka to Kafue (Chita Lodge/camping)

It was hot out today, well a solid 75 degrees which is at least hotter than the weather I've been having.  My friend the dreaded headwind is  back and I had lots of climbing to do today which meant some great descents too.

I had a steady, but gradual climb for about the firs 20 miles today.  A solo male cyclist (a local) saw me filling my water bottles and asked if I had something to drink.  I really didn't have extra water to spare as I wasn't sure what would be available today.  I felt like a terrible person, but I was also a bit suspicious.  I offered my empty water bottle to him and he took it.  A bit further down the road, I could see there was a village.  He was stopped by the side of the road on his phone.  I was actually going to offer to by him a water, but there was a language barrier.  At any rate, I figured he could figure it out.  I stopped at a bus shelter for a break and saw him go by.  The empty water bottle was no longer strapped on the back of his bike.  Again, maybe my suspicions were correct and that he didn't really need water.....

I knew today was going to have some notable climbs and I started my mantra early:

  "I am strong.  I am confident.  I believe in myself.  I stay calm.  I. Am. A. Cyclist."  

It took a lot of repeats, but it helps focus my attention on something else instead of all the self doubts and anxiety that sets in when I know tough hills are coming my way.   I should mention after the 20 miles of climbing, I had a killer descent of varying degrees for 10 miles.  

Then comes the next 5 mile climb that other cyclist have talked about and not in a good light.  I saw how steep a sections was and started to panic.  Said my mantra again.  As I got to the steeper sections, I turned round a corner and said, "You've got to be frickin' kidding me?!"  Blasted with even a stronger headwind.I counted pedal strokes and kept going.  Eventually, I get off and push my bike the rest of the way.  Too steep.  Too much wind.  Too slow of progress and my legs were so tired.  My mantra is great and all, but let's not be stupid.  Sometimes it's better to admit defeat and get some cross training in.

When I got to where I was staying, rooms were $65 or camping was $15.  Camping it was, but not before a dip in the pool to cool down (and get laundry done at the same time, ha ha.)  I know they all thought I was crazy, but I was hot and tired and I didn't care what anyone thought at that point.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Now this sign is every cyclists favorite!
Heart 0 Comment 0
That moment when you realize those mountains in the distance are probably the big climb I have later today. For now, I'll enjoy the downhill! Zoom! Zoom!
Heart 1 Comment 0
I turned around to take this picture. You know it's a steep hill when the trucks are all slowly chugging up it
Heart 1 Comment 0
I always like these trees with scraggly branches. I'm in the "flat" section of today's ride now in an agriculture area.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Exhibit A) above mentioned agriculture. Very green!
Heart 0 Comment 0
This does not look good. The hill from hell.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Charcoal for sale at the top of the brutal hill
Heart 1 Comment 0
Oh ya people, I'm going down now!!!! Woot! Woot!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
In case you think I've escaped the cows, they are still around, ha ha. The cute baby turned around before I could snap a pic. Instead of his cute little face, I've got a butt shot!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I'm guessing that's not a rubbish pile burn
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bananas anyone?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Three people on ONE bike. They were across the street from me and I was getting my camera out to snap a pic and next thing I now, they almost crashed into me. They had crossed over to me. Oops, sorry for that stop guys. They were very cute and we passed each other a few times in the next couple of k's
Heart 1 Comment 0
There is no way a Zambian has a spare $2,000 US Dollars! A bit steep of a fine I'm thinking.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another bit of a gentle climb, another beautiful view
Heart 1 Comment 0
Don't judge locals, I'm hot and I'm goin' in!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ahhhh, refreshing!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 46 miles (74 km)
Total: 3,406 miles (5,481 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0