Guadalupe Victoria to La Ventana - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

January 4, 2022

Guadalupe Victoria to La Ventana

A whole lotta nothing

The dog I mentioned continually went crazy when I would go to the office.  At one point, he was throwing his paws at the class windows.  Glad they didn't break!  I'm guessing he's a relative of Cujo!

I thought I'd aggravate the guard dog a bit more to get this nice shot before leaving
Heart 2 Comment 0
I'm guessing this something about thanks for visiting...
Heart 0 Comment 0

I spoke briefly with a guy at the hotel and he gave me directions to get to Highway 5.  Basically, take highway 3 to the dead end, turn right onto highway 4, turn left.  I think I can manage that!  He asked which way I had come in and when I told him Highway 40, he said that was very bad, ie, not safe.  I'm hoping he just misunderstood, but then he knew where I had crossed the border.  At any rate, I survived.  I will feel better once I get to Highway 5, but heading out today, I was not nearly as anxious as yesterday.  Except for the dogs.

 They continually gave chase in the first 5 miles.  I probably came the closest I ever have to getting bitten and this is when a presumable owner was present and trying to drive the three little ones back.  She threw rocks towards the big pit bull to scare it away.  Not entirely sad about that as she didn't hit it and pit bulls scare me.  I always shout "no" and slow down or stop my bike if they keep coming.  I had just started up again thinking I was okay, and one of the little ones came at me again.  Less than an inch from my heel.  As soon as I stopped, it stopped, but I barely stopped in time!  Whew!

This sign says, car jump ahead aka Dukes of Hazzard jump!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Some nice fresh air I'll be breathing in soon. From garbage piles burning.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I messed with my seat post again last night so then it started giving me problems again today.  Not as bad as yesterday, but super annoying and slowing me down for sure.  I made a last stop at the store in Durango to grab some bananas and stock up on water.  There may be one more opportunity for water, but to risk it was not worth it.  I think it was around 20 miles until I reached Highway 5 heading south.  San Felipe, here I come!

I stopped at an Oxxo store and found my bike had acquired my own personal guard dog. Isn't his toothy smile cute?!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Who knew when I took this that the scenery was going to get so much better?
Heart 3 Comment 0
I thought this scenic waterway with the reeds was pretty special
Heart 3 Comment 0
Here's a hint of what's to come
Heart 1 Comment 0

For awhile, I was absolutely awestruck by the beauty of the mountains to my right.  Absolutely magnificent!  The scenery to the left, not so much.  I was having a great time.   I didn't take enough breaks, in part, because I didn't want to be a sitting target and I was still in not a great zone until the end of my day.  Although there was traffic, there were definite stretches where it was just me.  I was impressed by the vastness of the area, I was alone, but did not feel lonely.  Just a chicken. 

These concrete fence posts had barbed wire strung between them, but lots of sections were down. But really, who's looking at the concrete posts with that stunning scenery?!
Heart 3 Comment 0
What an amazing view! More importantly, I was very happy to see the signs show the road was curving to the left!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Breathtaking view and I was not expecting this at all
Heart 0 Comment 0
Before you get jealous of my views, look to the left. A whole lot of nothing.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I prefer the view of the mountains
Heart 1 Comment 0
I am a huge Bryan Adams fan so every trip that has significant mileposts, I always find the appropriate one for his song "Summer of 69"
Heart 2 Comment 0
(music playing) I got my first real six string, bought it at the five and dime, played it til my fingers bled, it was the summer of ....
Heart 3 Comment 0
Lookin back from my km 69 (milepost) or kilometerpost? hmm
Heart 1 Comment 0
And then I lost my beautiful scenery. A whole lot of nothing. Lots of mud flats too. Depressing. This went on for miles and miles.
Heart 1 Comment 0

After awhile,  I entered such a desolate area.  Gone were the mountains.  Miles of miles of just mud flats and barren on either side of the road.   It was very depressing I did notice my mood was down but it was also because I was tired.   It was so depressing, I didn't even stop to take a picture.  No one wants to see that photo.

However when I saw the desert with sand and brush appearing again I got more happy and wondered if I had reached the Sahara desert. Some sand dunes were up ahead.  I took a rest break or I should say also a pee break.   After I was done I was just resting a bit and having a snack and I was by a dirt sand road and all of a sudden this jeep full of the Mexico military comes driving down the road then they stop right next to me.  I thought they said, "You okay?"  so I answered "ya." Then I realized that they probably weren't talking  to me because when I waved at all the guys in the back they just looked at me.  Since they all had machine guns, I just left that interaction alone.  Awkward.   

I was so excited to see the landscape changing ahead. As you can see, I'm about to enter the Sahara desert :)
Heart 0 Comment 0
So happy to be back with shrubs.
Heart 2 Comment 0
What I am not happy about is what appears to be a bit of a climb ahead. I thought this was going to be all flat! I like flat.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Was trying to capture the brown blah mountains as I rode and got my shadow in the picture. I was cranking out miles, no time to stop at this point.
Heart 2 Comment 0
A proper desert. There's sand everywhere.
Heart 1 Comment 0

After my rest break I felt better.   There was an area where I knew I could stealth camp just up ahead, but some of you know I’m afraid to stealth camp and it gets dark so early so I decided I would just push on to the store that I had heard was open again at La Ventana.  Besides, I don't want to be stealth camping with the military running around and besides, either do the extra 10 miles today or get stuck with it tomorrow.  

I am pretty sure it’s not snow. Guessing it’s salt deposits.
Heart 0 Comment 0

 I barely got there before dark and there was a bit of a miscommunication because he said inside was five dollars.  Outside he could not take any responsibility for my safety.  But then I realized when he was saying inside he meant inside behind  his store/combination house.  It was fenced off like a little compound.  Inside it is!  best 100 pesos spent.  

Well, except the bathroom required pouring a bucket of water to get it to flush and he told me the shower was cold.   I told him, I'd just wash up, no problem.    He moved a table aside so I could set my tent up directly next to the building.  He was worried out in the yard would be colder.  Hmmm.  I didn't argue, because I liked the idea of not being visible from the road.

Cleaned up and got situated and before I knew it it was dark.  He told me he closes the store at 6:00pm because it's safer to just close it down for the night.  When he closes down, the generator powering the electricity is off.   I heard one car pull up and people get out and walk around.  There are bathrooms out in front, but they were locked.  I must have got confused or was just a scardy cat because of a variety of noises, I heard, I thought someone was back in my area and I was scared and texted with my friend who I'm sure thought I was crazy.  Ha ha. Once I determined there wasn’t anybody outside my tent I quickly fell to sleep. 

Home sweet home
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 59 miles (95 km)
Total: 1,140 miles (1,835 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Rachel and Patrick HugensKim, the seatpost is supposed to have a little grease on it to prevent the aluminum seatpost from welding itself to the bike frame. (Is a problem with steel frames, not so much an issue with aluminum bikes). If the seatpost slips it is an issue with the clamp. Do you have a separate clamp (quick release), or is it part of the bike frame? Happy travels!
Patrick
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kim JohnsonHey Patrick,
I actually had this problem once before and needed the gritty grease to stop it. I watched you tube videos yesterday so took everything apart last night and thoroughly cleaned it and greased the screw for the clamp. I wiped all the grease off the seat post at this point, but there's hopefully a little bit down in the frame still. I had tried rubbing dirt/sand on the seat post and maybe some was in the clamp area keeping it from a full grip. I guess I'll find out tomorrow when I leave. It's definitely better than it was that first day...

No separate clamp and none of this was a problem until I greased the seat post when I had taken it apart to try and fix the rivet issue. Maybe I should go for a ride today and see how it does because I'm heading into a whole lot of nothing again....
Reply to this comment
2 years ago