Chipata - rest day - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

July 15, 2022

Chipata - rest day

Trying to apply for my visa online

My fb post from this day:

This is going splendid.  The US gov't website says I can get a visa on arrival for Malawi.  People are saying no, better do the e-visa online.  I literally spent all day trying to get and upload the documents.  I would like to think I'm not that computer challenged, but it wasn't working from my phone or laptop.  Finally found a workaround, got everything uploaded, went to pay, all three bank cards rejected.  I have contacts that are trying to help me, but pretty soon I'll be showing up at the border pleading my case.

This is when being alone is hard.  I finally got so frustrated, tears fell.  I'm tryin my hardest, but just blockade after blockade.  Just went and got dinner (because I didn't eat since breakfast) so will wait and see what tomorrow brings.  My Zambia visa expires next week so a bit of a time crunch.

--------------

By the way, as I'm bringing my blog up to date, I realize I forgot to mention that while I was in Lusaka, they were getting ready for a big summit with a bunch of African Leaders.  Hotel prices were being driven sky high and some hotels were sold out.  I feel very lucky I was able to move to my nice hotel and book a couple days before that happened to me.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Dino AngeliciFrom having read Riann Manser's book and then hearing about your visa problem(s), it seems as though the process can be the most stressful part of such a trip. It seems "the rub" for trying to get all of one's visas ahead of time is that you have to know the dates of visitation. Sometimes, on a bicycle trip, that is pretty hard to nail down precisely. Do you have any further guidance, from experience, that you could share?
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Kim JohnsonTo Dino Angelici
Are you planning a trip? If so, to where?

I have always read the State department country page to confirm the visa requirements. I have always requested mine on arrival. This was the first time it's been an issue. E-Visa's seem to be becoming more common. As a US Citizen, it's rarely an issue.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Dino AngeliciThanks for the information. I would like to ride in Africa. No definite plans right now. I am simply gathering information. I appreciate your responses and am enjoying your journal. All the best to you.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago