Bangkok - Phuket: Where am I? - Touring in Thailand, Cambodia and China - CycleBlaze

February 23, 2008

Bangkok - Phuket: Where am I?

Another flying experience with our bikes. We fly with Air Asia this time. Again it isn't necessary to pack the bicycles but there is a small fee, we are charged 7 Euros per bike. As usual we have turned pedals and handlebars as prescribed and let most of the air out of the tires. Upon arrival we discover that my rear tire is completely flat and a closer look at the inner tube discloses two tiny cuts. We have absolutely no clue how that could have happened. I also see that my panniers have been knocked around a lot and the surface is badly scuffed. Bicycles (and the rest of the gear) are made to ride and not to fly.

In the plane: Janos working on his journal
Heart 1 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltGreat to keep a trip journal, writing each day. :) Wonderful reading for the future. :)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Some more great cloudscapes
Heart 1 Comment 0

We cycle out of the airport and head to the coast to the south which takes us through Sirinat National Park to Nai Yang Beach, a very short ride. There are a couple of hotels and places renting rooms here. The first shock is that everything is about three times as expensive as anything else we've seen in Thailand, but not necessarily three times better. Newer, yes. The coast here was severely damaged by the tsunami in 2004. However, the rooms we look at are pleasant and tastefully furnished, I might call the style global, but not Thai anyway. A new start has brought a new style.

The second shock is that I don't even feel like I'm in Thailand. It could be someplace on the Italian coast. The many pizzerias almost convince me. There are also many bars for having drinks and cocktails, other places advertising 'Thai Cuisine'. Nice to know you can get a Thai meal here. I don't see any of the Khaosan Road style backpackers on the streets. I think most of the tourists here must be on a package tour. And today the sun isn't even shining, it's not a beach day. Imagine all those tourists dressed up in their new holiday outfits with nothing to do and wandering between the construction sites which have sprouted up all over.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I described the new construction but since I didn't feel like taking pictures of it I'll just show the pretty beach.

Idyllic beach scenes
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0