Day 12: Coppet - Seyssel: Bonjour,  France - From Munich to the Mediterranean and More - CycleBlaze

July 10, 2006

Day 12: Coppet - Seyssel: Bonjour,  France

A fantastic day. We follow the direct road to Geneva and most of the time, not always, have a bike path for the 22 km. Today we're not into sightseeing and give Geneva no more than a few superficial glances. We are eager to make our way out of the city and find the small country road we've chosen to get to the border. I'm excited and feel the real challenge of our trip lies ahead.

Road to Geneva
Heart 1 Comment 0

I just finished saying we're not using bicycle routes any more, but when I see the sign for Veloroute 103 leading out of Geneva I figure it must be heading for France. My fuzzy logic doesn't convince Janos but he lets me have my way. Yes, Route 103 takes us to Soral, where we want to cross the border. We are using the Michelin 1/150,000 maps of the series Local, very detailed and very reliable, but getting out of cities is often a problem, even with the best of maps.

The Rhone as it leaves Lake Geneva: The valley of the Rhone will take us to the Mediterranean
Heart 0 Comment 0

So as not to have to have to carry the many maps needed for the whole trip, I have scanned the portions that we will be using and printed them out in duplicate so that both of us can have a copy. Janos is an excellent pathfinder, but I love to have my own map in front of me while cycling.

Soon after we reach the border, we have a splendid view of the Jura Mountains and in the distance the gap that the Rhone and our road will pass through.

Entering France: Some of the greatest scenery of the trip
Heart 1 Comment 0
Approaching l'Ecluse
Heart 2 Comment 0

It's hilly until we reach l'Ecluse where the mountains part to let us through, followed by a long hard climb. I'm feeling strong today and slowly but steadily work my way up. What a great feeling. And better yet the long descent through stunning scenery to Seyssel. Today's ride must have released all my endorphins - I'm euphoric.

A long climb
Heart 0 Comment 0
A long descent to Seyssel
Heart 1 Comment 0

In Seyssel we are directed to a small hotel a few kilometers outside of town, Chez Michaud I think it's called. Room, evening meal and breakfast for 100 Euros for the two of us. And what a meal - French haute cuisine and a fine local wine crown the day. I think we're hooked already. We have started trying the local wines as we go along and are often seduced by the good menus.

In the evening when I call my sister to tell her we are in France at last, she has sad news for us. Two weeks ago my brother-in-law Jerry, in a freak accident, fell from the height of 2 meters and is still in the hospital. He broke his arm in two places, broke a rib and has three fractured vertabrae. He's recovering slowly and should be back home by the time we arrive. Gwen and Jerry are both traumatized and I hope we can help out when we get there.

Today's ride: 74 km (46 miles)
Total: 729 km (453 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0