Behind Every Big Man... - 12X26 - CycleBlaze

August 25, 2021

Behind Every Big Man...

Today's ride began in Walker, MN and ended in Crow Wing State Park.  I started out on the Shingobee Connector which enabled me to side step a section of the Heartland and Paul Bunyan I rode on Monday.  The rolling hills of the connector was certainly a change from the typical rail trail.  After 7 miles the connector rejoin the Paul Bunyan and off I went with visions of Crow Wing State Park, the trail end, 70 miles ahead.  In another 6 miles down trail I entered Hackensack for a quick break.  Ran into 3 guys who had ridden from Walker earlier and were awaiting the opening of the local brewery.  I passed on the invitation to join them since I would likely need Uber to transport me to Laura down the trail.  I was, however, able to catch a picture of Lucette Diana Kensack, Paul Bunyan's sweetheart.

Laura and I had agreed to meet in Merrifield 52 miles from today's start.  Wasn't I pleasantly surprised to see her headed in my direction about 15 miles from Merrifield!  Arriving in Merrifield I decided to finish the trail today with 22 miles to Crow Wing.  If I had known there would be significant road construction in Brainerd, I might have rethought that plan.  Road signage was well done however they failed to provide any signage for the trail that paralleled the road construction.  After a couple of false starts, I was back on track.  The final 8 miles through Crow Wing were beautiful.  I was able to record a brief video but since attaching the video is "intuitive" and I do not have access to an eight year old...   UPDATE...  Laura announces I have successfully become an 8 year old.

Laura was gracious enough to agree to a visit to Sonic where I could enjoy a favorite recovery meal of a cheeseburger and chocolate shake!  Consulting GPS and discovering the closest Sonic was a mere 74 miles away and in the wrong direction, she located a relatively nearby Five Guys. I clearly now have a second option for a recovery meal after a long day in the saddle.

Following our luxurious meal, we headed for Alexandria MN where the next trails await. 

Walker Lake from the Shingobee Connector.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Back on The Paul Bunyan State Trail.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Lucette Diana Kensack.
Heart 3 Comment 0
A welcomed surprise. Laura enjoying her new red e-bike.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Marilyn HarveyLaura, that's a very cool bike!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Today's ride: 78 miles (126 km)
Total: 889 miles (1,431 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Susan RodriguesWow! I am so enjoying being able to experience all this through your eyes!! Awesome!
Tell Laura she looks marvelous on her new E- Bike.
Stay safe.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago