Easy/Best app to document long tour? - CycleBlaze

Bicycle Travel Forum

Easy/Best app to document long tour?

Mark Want

Newbie here. Planning multi-year tour and am weighing up options for best/easiest way to document/log and share the most relevant ride info and photos/notes on daily basis on one single phone app/platform. Looking for suggestions, advantages, disadvantages of say, for example, committing to logging everything on Cycleblaze separately, or in combination with apps like Komoot, Strava, RIdewithGPS, Instagram, Reddit, FB, etc. I see that with Komoot for example you can easily share details of daily ride (map, time, distance, etc.), photos of points of interest, and short journal entry on same page. That can basically be done on the fly from your phone. Anyone with link can follow you, but others will find it hard to find riders.

I guess I’m also wondering what level of effort and time most people are putting in to maintain a consistent trip log on this platform? Is it significant IYO? I’m a old boomer and don’t have skill or much patience to do a full on trip blog. I love reading them, but can’t imagine how’d that work while pedaling, eating, or sleeping most of the day. 

Do people often cross post daily activity to multiple platforms (FB, IG, Strava, etc.) or just rely on one place (Cycleblaze) as sole source for their ride info and journal and photos? 
Any and all suggestions, options, thoughts, insights are welcome. Really am enjoying reading blog posts here. It’s a great community. 

Reply    Link    Flag
2 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Mark Want

We aren’t round the worlders, but we’re there in spirit if not actuality.  We’ve been blogging our lives more or less nonstop for three and a half years now, exclusively on CycleBlaze.  I write the blog, and post pretty much daily except for breaks between tours.  We don’t use any other social media platform.