‘Twas the day after Christmas - Winterlude 2023 - CycleBlaze

December 26, 2023

‘Twas the day after Christmas

Well, the good news is that all the moving parts seem to be working this morning and I’m none the worse for wear after yesterday’s long ride.  I propose that Rocky and I try again to bike down the Santa Cruz and see if the path is open through to the El Rio Preserve yet, but after back to back 45 milers she’s ready for a change and plots out a hike up Tumamoc Hill.   

We don’t get started right away - partly because it’s cold, but also because we’re waiting until Locale opens up at 11:30 so we can call and confirm it’s really open today.  There’s conflicting information on that.  I’m pretty sure I asked about this when we were here last week, and even placed a reservation; and their website states they’re open.  Google Maps says they’re closed for Boxing Day though, and it’s important to be sure because we’ve got a dinner date with Kelly and Jacinto scheduled.

11:30 comes. And there’s still no one answering their phone, so we assume they’re closed.  We reschedule our dinner date with Kelly, and not long afterwards Rachael steps out the door.  Its still not that warm out though, so I decide I may as well keep sitting on the floor by the heater (because it’s too cold sitting on the couch for long because the windows are so poorly insulated that you can almost feel the cold breeze coming in through them) for another hour and ride during the warmest hours of the day.

It’s nearly one when I finally roll out the door and head south along the Santa Cruz for Kennedy Park, a reasonably productive birding spot I’ve been to several times in the past.  My plan is to make a birding loop - south to Kennedy Park, then north to Columbus and Sweetwater, roughly 35 miles.  I don’t really expect to see anything new, but am curious to see how large a count I can rack up.  

I total up seven biking north on the loop to Ajo Way, where I turn away from the loop for the short, busy climb to the park.  Mostly the usual suspects appear, but it’s nice to see a red-tailed hawk soaring above.

This phainopepla looks on the chubby side. That Mesquite branch he’s perched on looks like it could snap at any second.
Heart 3 Comment 0

The lake at Kennedy Park has been a pretty good spot for waterfowl in the past, but it’s a disappointment today.  There are the usual coots all over the lake, but not much else - a few mallards and one shoveler way out in the middle.  I suppose the middle of the day when the bank is lined with fishermen and picnickers is just the wrong time to be here if it’s birds you’re looking for.  Which is fine - I figure I’ll just make a quick loop around it and keep an eye on the trees for warblers and such and then head north for Silverbell Lake.

I like this view of Sentinel Peak you get from the upper end of Kennedy Park. I don’t remember seeing it before.
Heart 2 Comment 0

As I round the upper end of the lake though I come to some trees - acacias and palms - with a steady flow of small birds coming and going - flying in from somewhere and immediately disappearing into the tree.  I can see small figures moving around in the shadows, but by the time I’m focused on one it’s invariably moved on.  I’m patient though and have all afternoon so I end up there for what must be a half hour, moving slightly from one spot to another hoping for a better perspective or luck.

I never do have much luck, and finally feel foolish staring up into the same few trees and decide to move on.  I do get a couple of poor shots of those cute lemon yellow-headed verdins, which is nice - they’re the first verdins I’ve spotted since arriving in town.  Really though, the shot I’m most pleased with is of a rock squirrel who nicely poses briefly for me before slipping off into the brush.

A rock squirrel! I don’t think I knew rock squirrels were a thing, and assumed this was some sort of ground squirrel until I tried to identify it. I’ll have to keep my eye out for a round-tailed ground squirrel for comparison.
Heart 5 Comment 4
Bill ShaneyfeltThese guys are bigger and "spottier" than round tails... a lot farther down the cuteness scale too, in my opinion.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Bill ShaneyfeltHey, this guys pretty cute too! Look at that nice white eye liner!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltHa! I guess somewhat cute, but still lower on my cuteness scale.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Bruce LellmanTo Scott AndersonAny kind of squirrel is down pretty low on my cuteness scale.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
I always enjoy a good look at a Gila woodpecker, but I think this one looks especially elegant contrasted to the palm fronds.
Heart 7 Comment 0

It must be about three when I finally work my way back down to the Loop and start biking north.  There’s still time for me to make it up to Silverbell Lake and back before sundown, so that’s the plan.  I don’t get far though before noticing that there are a lot of small birds swarming around down in the wash.  Another twenty minutes goes by while I scope them out, concluding that other than a single yellow-rumpled warbler it’s mostly a mixed flock of about thirty sparrows - white crowned, and some brownish-crowned ones that I mistakenly think are chipping sparrows.  Later though I’ll research them and learn something new - the brownish ones are also white-crowned sparrows, but immatures.  So that’s worth knowing.

Two looks of the white-crowned sparrow: the adult above, the juvenile below.
Heart 4 Comment 2
Keith AdamsThat adult is about the puffiest sparrow I've ever seen.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Keith AdamsYou’re right! He looks like a ping pong ball.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

Back on the bike again, it doesn’t take me long to decide that Silverbell Lake is now out too.  Time is a concern, but the main thing is it’s too cold!  The wind has picked up significantly, I’m biking right into it in the shadows, and didn’t bring my coat so it’s clear I need to just head home and take a warm shower.

So, not a particularly great birding day, or a great riding day either.  Still, a not-so-great day on the bike in Tucson is better than the best day in the office, and I come away with 21 birds: Say’s Phoebe, Black phoebe, Rock dove, Mourning dove, Phainopepla, House finch, Red-tailed hawk, Lesser goldfinch, White-crowned sparrow, Great blue heron, Abert’s towhee, Gila woodpecker, Mallard, American coot, Great-tailed grackle, Shoveler, Verdin, Curve-billed thrasher, Common starling, Vermillion flycatcher, Anna’s hummingbird, Yellow-rumped warbler.

Biking up University I intersect with Rachael’s path, as I knew I would because I’ve been tracking her.  We exchange a few quick words - nearing the end of her 12.5 mile hike she’s lugging a bag of grocieries and excited about finding new underwear at a discount store (4 pair for $6!); and I’m happy when she lets me know she picked up a couple of boxes of shortbread cookies for me - but I soon cut it off and make a dash for the heat.

Rachael’s shot of Sentinel Peak from the top of Tumamoc Hill. Compare this to my earlier shot of it from below.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The view south to the Santa Rita mountains.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 15 miles (24 km)
Total: 546 miles (879 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Kelly IniguezDo you have a RWGPS map for today's ride? I stopped to offer navigation assistance to two men. They were heading for 'the lake', which I think might have been Silverbell Lake - except I'm not a birder, and I avoid the east side of the Santa Cruz wash, so I never go past the Silverbell Lake. Question mark? It seems I should be passing these lakes you mention, I need to check the details.

Jacinto went to Colossal Caves today, and I have a 36 mile route to go there tomorrow. He was seduced by the undulating road photo you took. His photos of all of the saguaros convinced me!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Kelly IniguezIf they were headed to a lake, it must have been Silverbell - but it’s on the west side, not the east. It’s just north of the golf course. You had just finished biking right past it when I hollered across the wash at you last week. You’ve probably never noticed because you can’t really see the lake from the Loop because of a low ridge.

The lake shown in this ride is in Kennedy Park, down south by Ajo Way. I doubt that they were trying to get here if they’re birders. It’s just a so-so spot. Silverbell is much better.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago