Biking my age in miles: 77 - Winterlude 2023 - CycleBlaze

December 25, 2023

Biking my age in miles: 77

For my Christmas present to myself, I decide that this is the day to make another shot at biking my age in miles, a challenge to myself I began when I was a young lad of 69.  Most of my previous birthday rides are posted here on CycleBlaze, but unfortunately the first two, both ridden in Portland, were lost in the transition to this website.  I wish they were still available, because I don't remember now what inspired me to start this.  My older self is curious what my young and foolish 69 year old self was thinking at the time.

Anyway, here's what is still available:

     71: In Portland

     72: Also in Portland

     73: At Lake Coeur d’Alene

     74: In Tucson: the Loop and Marana 

     75: In Tucson: the Old Sonoita Highway

     76: In Tucson: the Loop and Oro Valley

 It will be interesting seeing how the ride goes this year, especially after rereading how it went last year.  It looks like I struggled with that one and was really dragging by the time I made it home, and at the end was wondering whether it would be the last one.  I’m feeling good about my condition now since my ablation surgery though, and feel confident when I set out just before nine.  It’s cold - only 41 degrees - and I’m layered with my fading long sleeved Bike Gallery jersey, my orange Columbia parka that thankfully I got back from The Loft when I left it there a few days back, and  my leg warmers.  

That’s the downside of scheduling this ride in Tucson - days are shorter and temperatures can be colder.   I really should have started an hour earlier to make sure I don’t run out of daylight, but I couldn’t make myself do it.  If I’m still doing this at 80 I might want to pick a different season and locale - Portland if we’re still using it as a base then, or maybe the Fens in July or something like that.

The chimes are just ringing out the hour of nine as I enter the university campus.  I haven’t even gone a mile yet, but the campus is so pretty in the morning light that I stop for a few shots before deciding I need to get moving.  At this pace I won’t make it home until about midnight.

9 AM Christmas morning, and it’s very quiet on the beautiful U of A campus.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Red and white? Do they plant these for the holiday season?
Heart 4 Comment 0
I’m not really on a bird hunt today, but I guess I can stop for this guy.
Heart 10 Comment 2
Ron SuchanekSeems worth a stop.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltI recognize that as a red bug gobbler! (or something like that!)

Pyrocephalus obscurus officially.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

After that I hardly stop at all for the next fifteen or twenty miles.  I just bike a steady 12 mph or so as I head north on Mountain Avenue to the loop and then follow it east along Rillito Wash.  It’s very quiet this morning, and I don’t start seeing anyone else out at all until I’m on the loop and a few runners and walkers start showing up.  It’s probably the quietest I’ve ever seen Mountain Avenue.

I think we were wrong in thinking there had been no water in Rillito Wash. The wash is too smoothed out and clean for that. There must have been a pretty good flow here, but one that didn’t last long.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltInteresting how quickly the thirsty, porous desert sucks the water down. Raging torrent one day and drifting sand the next.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Cactus bird.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Ground bird. I’ve never noticed before how fuzzy they are down below.
Heart 6 Comment 1
Bruce LellmanWhat a great shot. He's cute and the fuzziness makes him even cuter.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

It’s not until after ten that it’s warmed up enough that the feeling starts coming back in my numbed hands again.  I really should have brought my warm gloves for this first hour or so.  By the time I’m heading south along Pantana Wash though it’s finally warming up to take my jacket off and I’m getting benefit from biking into the sun.  Rounding the bend as I turn south, I look back and am surprised to see a thin band of snow atop Mount Lemmon.

Mount Lemmon looks like it’s just tall enough to have captured a little snow from the rainstorm. We should ride out Oro Valley tomorrow to see if there’s more on the north side before it melts off.
Heart 3 Comment 0
One of the shrines beneath the mesquites along Pantano Wash.
Heart 4 Comment 0

There’s a short on-street connector in the loop when you leave Pantana Wash and cut east to Harrison before continuing south.  I always look forward to this short stretch on Sellarole Street because I nearly always see something interesting.  Today it’s a hawk, about six utility poles down a dirt side road that tempts me to bike down it and try to get close enough to identify it.

Worth a detour. What is that bird out there?
Heart 0 Comment 1

I get about two poles down the road and stop for a shot before getting even closer, when I look up and see that there are two more on the next pole nearer me.  Three of them!  It must be a family.  Two fly off, but one stays put while I get close enough to identify it - a Harris’s hawk!  This counts as an unusual sighting for me.  This is about the northern edge of their range - they’re primarily a Mexican species - and I think I’ve only seen them once in Ajo, and once here - on this same dusty spur off Sellarole.  Probably the same bird.

Heart 0 Comment 0
He’s facing south, but he finally gives a quick sideways glance to help with the identification.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltQuite a good shot, considering how much contrast there is with the bright sky! Mine just never quite show that much detail.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Bill ShaneyfeltThat was the problem, alright. I’d love to have works my way past him over to the other side, but then he’d have lost patience and flown off.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

I leave the Loop here and cut east to the Old Spanish Trail, which I’ll follow south to Colossal Caves.  The Old Spanish Trail is  nice cycling road, going past the national park and offering fine views of the nearby ranges.  I stop for a few to remember what a fine day this is and show I was actually here instead of faking some ride I just drew up, but mostly I just ride because I’ve got my eye on the time.  This first half of the ride is mostly a gradual climb so it’s slower going, and I want to make sure I keep on track to return home before dusk.

Another view of Mount Lemmon, this one along Bonanza Avenue.
Heart 2 Comment 0
On the Old Spanish Trail, staring at Mica Mountain.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The Santa Rita Mountains, from the high point on Old Spanish Trail at Saguaro Crest.
Heart 6 Comment 1
Rincon Peak. I know I’m indulging myself with a lot of mountain shots here, but I feel like I’ve earned the right.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Tank shot.
Heart 3 Comment 0

It’s just turning one when I arrive at the gate to Colossal Caves.  I’d been thinking I might tackle the 10% climb up to the viewpoint and pause for lunch there, but with still over 40 miles to go I don’t think I can spare that much time.  And in fact I wonder if I’ll need to backtrack to the north side of Pistol Hill when I see the gate’s closed.  I stop for a minute wondering if I’ll be safe to skirt it and stay with my marked route, but then I get some courage by considering that my nervy partner would definitely go for it.

What Would Rocky Do? Go for it, I’m sure she’d advise.
Heart 3 Comment 0

The next few miles along Colossal Caves Road are the best of the whole loop.  The section within the park is gated at both ends to restrict access, but bikes are apparently allowed through so it’s just you and the land.  After a couple of miles of cycling nirvana I climb the low saddle over the flank of Pistol Hill to reach the high point of the ride.  The miles should come considerably faster now, as I’m facing over twenty-five miles of gradual downhill - all the way to the Santa Cruz.

And they do come faster even though I’m biking into a headwind now.  I hold a steady 16-18 mph as I speed west on Mary Ann Cleveland Way, slowed only by the short climb out the western side of Pantano Wash.  By the time I cross the tracks over the Houghton Street bridge and drop back to Julian Wash and the Loop gain, I’ve made up enough time that I’m no longer concerned about arriving before dark.

And just as I come to the Loop, another road runner crosses the path in front of me - my second close-up sighting of the day.  

On beautiful Colossal Caves Road.
Heart 6 Comment 0
The Tucson Mountains, from Colossal Caves Road.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Looking across the upper end of Pantano Wash toward the Rincon Range.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Keith AdamsA shame about that ugly sprawl of development in the midground, though.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Keith AdamsYup. One of the few things I’d change about this town would be better land use laws so it would start growing up more than out.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
One more! It’s my day, I can include all the roadrunner shots that I want.
Heart 8 Comment 0

Ever since hitting Cleveland Way I’ve been keeping track of a new icon on the Garmin’s map - it’s Rachael, biking east up Julian Wash to meet me and then bike back toward home with me.  We finally meet up at the pit stop at Roy Schoonover Trailhead.  We touch base and compare notes for a few minutes - Rachael’s got a lot to say about how unpleasant the section around the VA Hospital, probably the least attractive in the whole system.  She didn’t like it coming this way and she doesn’t look forward to biking back the other way either.

And she’s right.  I’ve never cared for this part of the loop, and now it’s noticeably worse than in the past.  Trashy, with quite a few more homeless encampments for several miles, it’s getting a bit of that Portland feel to it.

Rachael bikes on east for another mile or so while I finally eat lunch, take off layers, use the loo, and chat with a couple on a Comotion tandem who wonder if this mammoth train that’s stalled on the horizon will block their crossing at Rita Road.

Howdy, partner!
Heart 4 Comment 0
She’s back, let’s ride.
Heart 4 Comment 0
A huge train, powered by five engines. It’s been stalled for maybe twenty minutes but finally gets underway again.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Rachael and I ride together for the next fifteen miles, all the way back to the Santa Cruz.  It’s a familiar, comfortable ride until we get to about the cutoff to Lena Park and made better by spotting two more roadrunners - a four bird day!  Once we reach the Santa Cruz though my route includes a pointless ten mile detour up and down it toward Valencia Way for the sole purpose of getting my miles in, and Rachael only goes about a mile and a half of it with me before turning back.  When she makes it home she’ll have her own 45 mile ride, which feels like plenty - she’s biking more than her age in kilometers today, as she does most days.

Great of Rocky to bike out and keep me company! She’d have started out the ride with me too if it hadn’t been so cold.
Heart 1 Comment 0
That’s enough. See you when you get home.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The last dozen miles come surprisingly easily.  I expected to be dragging by this point, but I really feel fine.  My energy level is good, my knee isn’t bothering me, and when I come to the turnoff at Saint Mary’s I even overshoot and bike to Speedway and back to give myself some extra for padding.  It’s very encouraging.  I really feel the best I have in a couple of years, and feel confident that an 80 miler is in the cards for three years from now.

So, a great day - but one that’s made especially memorable by the howling coyote atop a berm near Congress Street and the almost perfectly full moon staring in my face as I bike home up University.  A Cold Moon, that’s what December’s is called.

Home stretch.
Heart 2 Comment 0
So what’s he yapping about?
Heart 3 Comment 0
Maybe this.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Good for another year.
Heart 8 Comment 2
Michael HutchingCongratulations Scott! Quite an achievement, though I can’t help thinking that if you used kilometres you’d have saved yourself a bit of time. Cheers, Michael.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Michael HutchingFunny. A couple along the trail today told me of a friend who decided to ride his age of 80 recently, then partway through thought the better of it and switched to kilometers. Its out there as my ace in the whole, but with luck it feels like I’ve got a few more years of this standard left.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 4
Susan CarpenterCongratulations🏆 And it’s great that you finished strong!!

I got caught in a major thunderstorm and ended up 4 miles short on my Birthday Ride this years.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Susan CarpenterIt’s not too late to try again. You’ve still got a few days left, right?
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Susan CarpenterPerhaps, but I think I’ll settle for the 3 days on RAGBRAI that topped 72 miles - 78; 83; 92!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Rachael AndersonTo Susan CarpenterIt looks like you not only have done your current birthday ride but also the next two!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

Today's ride: 78 miles (126 km)
Total: 531 miles (855 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 15
Comment on this entry Comment 28
Eva WaltersCongratulations Scott!! What a great ride. Inspiring! Happy Boxing Day.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Jen RahnI'm pretty sure the coyote's vocalizing was all about your birthday miles accomplishment.

Way to go!!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Rich FrasierCongratulations! It's so good to hear that the old ticker is working better. I'm looking forward to next year's effort already!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Gregory GarceauCongratulations! You may be 77, but you cycle like you're 47.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Ron SuchanekWay to go! I always enjoy the birthday ride journals. It's much easier to read yours than go out and do my own.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltI will still be 77 for another month... I sure wish my knees would let me ride that far. Good job!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Bob DistelbergGreat job Scott! Congratulations!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Eva WaltersThanks, Eva. I’m pretty pleased with things, obviously. Much more promising than things looked not so long ago.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Jen RahnOh, well of course! I don’t know why that didn’t occur to me. He must have recognized a kindred wild spirit. I should have howled back.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Gregory GarceauNot that I was so hot at 47, as far as that goes. It reminds me of the story about the patient who asks his doctor if he’ll be able to play the piano after his operation for some reason.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Ron SuchanekThanks, Ron. Undaunted porridge!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Bill ShaneyfeltI wish that for you too, Bill. I know about that knee problem - now that I’ve had my arrhythmia seen too, my left knee is my new worst Achilles heel.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Bob DistelbergThanks, Bob in VT!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Rich FrasierThanks, Rich. I’m thinking some year I should do this in Fence, and you could join me. Robin could drive us up to the top of Col de Pailheres and we could start there.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Patrick O'HaraWell. Mr. Anderson. I'd like to congratulate you on this accomplishment! So great to hear how good you felt as well. Kudos. Chapeau. Allez. Courage and a Hup hup to you.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Kelly IniguezNot only a good photo for the mantle place of the coyote, but he was telling you to have a good birthday ride! It was meant to be.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Patrick O'HaraWhoa, a Hup Hup! I’ve never received. Hup Hup before. Such an honor!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Andrea BrownDude, this is so inspiring. Oh, and think of this, you can probably stretch these rides out several more years just by converting them to kilometers. I’m so pleased that your ablation procedure did the trick and you’re thumbing your nose at time once more. Congratulations.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
marilyn swettCongrats on reaching your goal, Scott! Luckily you had good weather and a scenic area to do the ride.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Jacquie GaudetChapeau! Now that I’m officially a senior, maybe I’ll give riding my age in miles during the coming year. What are miles again?
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Janice BranhamWoot woot! Your streak continues. Congratulations young man.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Bruce LellmanTo Gregory GarceauOr 37.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Bruce LellmanWow, congratulations, Scott. You are amazing and inspiring. Not only did you do more than 77 miles but the total ascent tacked on is also quite a factor and quite impressive.

Random question.....what bike did you use to do your birthday miles each year. Just curious if you always chose the Rodriquez or if a lot of those were with the Bike Friday.

I'd like to think that before this trip of ours is finished I will do my birthday miles. Don't hold your breath though.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Bruce LellmanIt’s always been the Rodriguez, but mainly because of timing. I’ve always done this ride when we’re in town or in the winter, and that’s the bike I ride then.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Scott AndersonYes, I remember that joke. It's a good one. I think it goes something like this. A patient goes into surgery to repair a broken hand.
Patient: Hey doc, when this operation is done, will I be able to play the piano.
Surgeon: Yes, I think you'll still have that ability.
Patient: Oh, that's great, because I could never play the piano before.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Gregory GarceauThat’s it! I was sure you’d know.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Bruce LellmanI misspoke earlier. I rode the Bike Friday on the 74 ride: https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/winterlude2020/biking-my-age-in-miles-74/. I forgot that we had those bikes with us then because we flew back from Taiwan to San Diego.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago