Biking my age in miles - North to the Balkans - CycleBlaze

March 20, 2018

Biking my age in miles

A few years back, I started an annual challenge to myself to ride my age in miles on or soon after my birthday.  The tradition still lives, although this year’s ride is way delinquent - my birthday was December 1st, and here we are a third of a year later and I still haven’t fit this silly ride in.  There are many reasons for this - weather, health issues, Hawaii, the film festival, and the home sale project all got in the way.

Today though, there are no excuses.  The calendar is free, the weather is awesome, it’s the first day of spring, the time has come.  71 or bust!

I get a reasonably early start, and reach the waterfront a bit before dawn. I’m surprised looking down on the river to see activity on the dock below.  The last of a set of early morning boaters is just leaving the dock, carrying their oars back to the shed.   I had no idea that these folks got out on the river for pre-dawn rides.  It must be a fantastic time to see the waterfront.

Heart 2 Comment 0

My ride begins with a loop south to the Sellwood Bridge and then back north along the west bank.   It’s going to be a beautiful day for a ride - clear, windless - but it’s quite chilly yet, and there’s a trace of frost on the ground along the river.  Crossing the bridge, I pause to observe the scattered fishing boats on the river, and to admire chevrons of ducks suddenly appear from beneath the bridge and glide north above the water.

A few minutes later as I bike north through Willamette Park the sun breaks the eastern skyline.  Fifteen minutes later I pull into Little River Cafe to take in coffee, a tomato basil omelet, and some warmth.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Most of the evidence has been destroyed.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After loitering too long for a day with so many miles ahead, I finally step out again at 10.  It’s incredible out, and warming up fast.  I head north toward Sauvie Island, but don’t get far.  Almost immediately I’m arrested by the cherry bloom in the Japanese American Historical Plaza.  I was just by here  on a CLC ride two days ago, but the trees have blossomed out significantly since then.  If everyone else is stopping with their camera, I might as well also.

Another awesome day for a ride.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

Finally I get some traction and bike the remaining ten miles to the Sauvie Island Bridge with only a single stop to admire a grain freighter across the river.  Annoyingly though, my nice shot of the ship is spoiled by that old scene stealer Mount Saint Helens.  That’s the downside of a clear day in Portland - the background keeps upstaging the foreground.

At the bridge, I’m frustrated again - this time, Mount Adams joins in to rob Rodriguez of some of the glory.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

Annoying volcanoes not withstanding, today is as beautiful a ride on the island as I can remember.  Progress is slow as I pass one arresting sight after another.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Sauvie Island offers some nice options for a road cyclist.  The basic loop of the south end of the island is roughly 13 miles.  In addition, there are significant spurs to the north.  On the west side, Sauvie Island Road continues north along the Multnomah Channel for about seven miles; and on the east side Reeder Road continues north along the Columbia for about ten.  Rachael and I often ride the western extension, but have almost never ridden the eastern one because it is often busier - the boat launches and beaches are out this way -and rougher.

I have never ridden Reeder Road to its end, but it’s a low traffic day and I’m seeking extra miles, so I decide to check it out.  The road steadily degrades as you progress: after a few miles you come to the county line and the surface roughens from smooth pavement to chip seal; and a few miles later it turns to packed dirt for the final few miles until it finally ends at a parking space and trailhead.

What a great ride it is though, at least on a day like today.  The scenery along the river is beautiful, and the birdlife is impressive.  I think this must be the best birding corner of the island.

I like my ducks like this - not skittish, easy to approach.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Reeder Road turns to gravel for the last few miles. Very quiet, except for the stretch past Collin’s Beach.
Heart 2 Comment 0
So here’s where all the snow geese hang out!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
I’m not sure about this guy. Coopers Hawk?
Heart 0 Comment 3
Bill ShaneyfeltMight be a Swainson's hawk. Not sure, but it is a fairly close match to some images.

http://www.birdfellow.com/birds/swainsons-hawk-buteo-swainsoni/photos/identification

----->Bill
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Bill ShaneyfeltThat is too funny, Bill. I was just telling Rachael yesterday that I’ve been looking for a lizard to take a shot of to test whether you were following over here. We’ve seen several, but none in time to get the cameras out,
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Bill ShaneyfeltI just found your journal here... It is going to take some time for me to catch up with you! Grampies turned me onto Cycleblaze, and when I saw your name, I recognized it, and started scrolling through. Takes my internet quite a while to open the pictures, so it will be slow going.

----->Bill
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
I would have gone down to provide some documentation, but bicycles aren’t allowed.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
The sandhill cranes are still with us. They should be heading north any day now.
Heart 0 Comment 0

For the last few miles I’ve been mentally calculating distances, wondering whether Reeder continues far enough so that I’ll get my 71 miles in if I just head back home from there.  It’s close, but just a bit shy.  To meet my quota I’ll have to pick up about two extra miles.  There are options, but the one that appeals to me is to cross the river over the Saint Johns Bridge and return to town on Vancouver Avenue; and as long as I’m passing by, it feels like a good plan to stop in at the Bike Bar for a beer and sandwich.  That way I can credit the outing as a CLC ride also.  Kill two birds with one stone.

Ride stats: 72 miles, 1,800’

Mount Adams, through the Saint Johns Bridge.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The view south from the Saint Johns Bridge
Heart 1 Comment 0
Gear Up, a current IPA selection at the Bike Bar. I’m mad at myself for forgetting to take a photo of the Oregon-built frame collection above the bar, but at least we see an attractive Rodriguez outside the door.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0