Puerto Bertrand - La Terre de Feu - CycleBlaze

December 14, 2023

Puerto Bertrand

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Left alone at seven this morning in light rain. Had to stop after 30 km in a bus stop shelter. Met Carlo who slept there. He is going to Alaska. I was wet. The road is still unpaved. Not so bad for 45 km but then wash board extravaganza with deep cycle coming downhill to Puerto Bertrand. At one point it felt like skiing with the rest of the bike sliding Really crummy weather.

In town, I ask a worker where I could buy food. In my back was Filipo, telling me he found a guesthouse. Oh yes! I was supposed to met him near the river in a wild camping spot

We are 6 cyclist, 2 Colombians, 2 Spaniards, Filipo my comrade in arms since 5 days and me.

13 316 meters climbed in total. Today 1176 meters.

Today's ride: 66 km (41 miles)
Total: 1,060 km (658 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0