Esperanza - La Terre de Feu - CycleBlaze

December 25, 2023

Esperanza

I am tired sitting in a restaurant at 9:00 at night. Just got here. On the east side of the Andes there is no trees just grass , guanacos and wind, big wind, crazy wind.

Left El Chalten three days ago, going 42 kn/hr with wind in my back, then bang head wind. Manage to find an abandoned house to sleep in. Next going near El Calafate, I battled winds most of the day. Manage to find a wind shelter near a bridge.

Then today, the hardest day of cycling I encountered. Violent side winds at 50 knots. (Wind Guru). I could go only 7 km/ hr., been thrusted side ways right in the middle of the road. Too dangerous, I stopped biking and found refuge in a small cement gutter. 80 km done in brutal conditions.

After a nap, I crawled out of the gutter and decided to walk 30 km with the bike. At least 200 vehicles pass by until an empty moving van stopped and ask if I wanted a lift. This was gift from heaven.

300 km without a store, a city, a village. 

Understatement
Heart 3 Comment 1
Raphaël BoutinMerry Christmas to the world best father !
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Tent in the pink house
Heart 3 Comment 0
Graffiti’s by cyclist
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 310 km (193 miles)
Total: 1,418 km (881 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0