In Revelstoke: Day two - An American Summer, 2023 - CycleBlaze

July 25, 2023

In Revelstoke: Day two

Breakfast doesn’t start until seven sharp at the Grizz, and it’s none too exciting anyway.  With me awake and interested in coffee earlier than that and with an unstructured, independent day ahead I decide it’s the right time to look for something more appealing.  A quick search uncovers La Baguette, opening in a few minutes.  The photo gallery shows some attractive pastries so I head over with an almond croissant on my mind; but when I get there the full meal deal wins my vote.  I enjoy my breakfast listening to the Latin soundtrack - recently deceased Astrud Gilberto lives on as she sings the tune that made her famous, The Girl from Ipanema.

Why don’t we see more breakfast shots in this blog, anyway?
Heart 6 Comment 1
Kirsten KaarsooBecause in France it is more often than not a croissant and coffee. Nothing as delicious looking as this!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

A few days ago it looked like we’d be hampered by rain today, but the threat has steadily lessened as the day approached.  It rained last night from what I overheard at breakfast though with two guys saying it came down in sheets, and from all the recently downed trees and branches I’ll see on the trail later there must have been some impressive wind as well.  It’s quite refreshing this morning though: mostly overcast, a light breeze, and cool.  The temperature must have dropped fifteen degrees from yesterday.  Really, on the whole we’ve been quite fortunate with conditions on this trip so far.

We’re both going our own way today, though we’ll cover some of the same territory so it won’t be a surprise if our paths cross somewhere.   I’m off on my bike, heading south along the river under Betsy’s suggestion that this is my best chance for finding interesting birds: eagles, mergansers, ducks galore I think she promised.  It’s close enough that I could walk it, as Rachael plans to do, but after yesterday I’ll have more fun and cover more territory from the saddle.  My vision is that I’ll bike down to the wetlands and then lock up the bike somewhere and walk around.

I’m out the door first.  It’s only a few blocks down to the riverfront, where I stop for a few snaps of the dramatic views and then turn south.  A mile later I’m standing on the path in the middle of a grassy meadow trying to make out a duck on the river when I realize I’m under attack by mosquitos.  I forgot to bring the bug spray!  It’s pretty obvious I’ll be eaten alive if I stay out like this so I return to the Grizz and Rachael meets me at the door with the spray.

On the Riverstone waterfront, looking north up the Columbia. If you look closely you’ll see that there are three bridges across close together there.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Same spot, looking south.
Heart 3 Comment 0
It’s always appreciated when a train shows up at the right time. That’s twice this week!
Heart 4 Comment 0
This came down in the storm last night, according to a maintenance worker I ask as I bike through the grass and mud to get around it - a maneuver I’ll repeat three more times before I’m done here.
Heart 1 Comment 0

On the road again, I head back south with the plan to bike as far as conditions allow.  It looks like at the right time of year I could keep going across the wetlands south past the airport and connect up with Airport Way, but no Way today.  About five miles into the ride the road ends at a large shallow lake so I turn back after enjoying some inspiring reflected views, a nice consolation prize for the birds that don’t show up this morning.

On the way back I’m watching far ahead on the path for Rachael, since the Garmin tells me she’s coming my way.  I eventually see her far off, one of two faint silhouettes.  When they get close enough so I can hear her voice I see there’s a dog in the party as well - she’s found company for her walk this morning.

I don’t linger long chatting with them before continuing back to town, discouraged by the cloud of mosquitos hovering above the spaniel.  Later Rachael will have much to say about how greatly she enjoyed this encounter and the meetup with other dog walkers at the end of the trail.  Eventually she’ll casually let drop that she saw tons of bald eagles out there too.

We’re both out here with cameras this morning, so the next set are a mix of hers and mine.

Along the Columbia.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Along the Columbia.
Heart 1 Comment 0
One of Rachael’s shots. I kept to the wider path.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The footbridge across the Illecillewaet.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The footbridge across the Illecillewaet. According to Betsy it sounds just like it looks.
Heart 4 Comment 0
It’s slow biking on this path, from all the recent blowdown.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Looking north. There was considerably more smoke here yesterday but last night’s rain appears to have helped the situation.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Another view of Mount MacKenzie.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Along the river.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Mount Begbie.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I’ve been spotted at last.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Keith AdamsFunny that the autofocus chose to pay more attention to the leaves in the foreground than the figures in the center of the frame.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

Back in town, I take a short spur up along the Illecillewaet until a discouraging sign turns me back the way I came.

The Illecillewaet, just above its confluence with the Columbia.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The trail along the Illecillewaet looks tempting on the map but the sign turns me back, knowing that Rachael will kill me if I ignore it and get mauled by a bear. I do feel silly though when a man, his daughter and a dog fearlessly continue on.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Keith AdamsFearlessly, or recklessly and foolishly?
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jacquie GaudetWhere I live, such signs seem to be permanent. They’ve been up so long the bolts are rusty. It was the “cougar in area” sandwich board I saw on my favourite ride a couple of years ago that spooked me.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

I haven’t even gone fifteen miles, but I’m back by the Grizz so I stop in for a service break and then loaf for awhile before heading out again, this time to explore the paths north of town.  It looks to me from RideWithGPS like I can get a reasonably flat ride if I cross the river, ride the Big Eddy Dike Path on the other side, and then follow Mount Begbie Road for two miles until the pavement ends.  Unfortunately when I get there it turns out that RideWithGPS is a bit off: the pavement on Mount Begbie Road ends at mile 0.0, not 2.0.  That’s enough though - I feel like I’ve earned my pint tonight and head back to the room to take a nap.

The river, the bridges, the mountains.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Crossing the Columbia on the Big Eddy Bridge.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The view from the bridge.
Heart 3 Comment 0
On the Big Eddy Dike Path. That might be Mount Macpherson ahead, which Betsy claims is the best spot for off-road biking around here. Or then again, maybe it’s just another face of Begbie.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I’m not tempted by the looks of Mount Begbie Road, and decide I may as well turn back here.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Keith Adams"Unfortunately when I get there it turns out that RideWithGPS is a bit off: the pavement on Mount Begbie Road ends at mile 0.0, not 2.0."

Now that I've actually tried it for myself, I can encourage you to participate in the OpenStreetMap project by updating road surface data as you encounter errors. It's easy to do and will help improve the reliability of not only OSM but also RWGPS, Strava, and whatever other apps rely on OSM.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
One for Graham, who prefers IPA’s I believe. The Bower Pow IPA, by Whitetooth Brewing in Golden. Appearance - Pours a rusty copper with four fingers of frothy white head.Smell - earthy, leafy, piney, and floral hops, pine resin, grapefruit peel, bready malts, and earthy yeast. Taste - earthy, leafy, piney, and floral hops upfront. The pine resin, grapefruit peel and bready malts come through next. The earthy yeast rounds out the brew.
Heart 3 Comment 3
Annette SchneiderMore complicated than wine! I'm doubtful about the appeal of pine resin.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Annette SchneiderDoesn’t sound quite healthy, does it? I put all that in for Graham Finch’s benefit. Having no taste or smell, I’m not sure I can reliably tell the pine resin from the grapefruit peel.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Graham FinchI can smell the hops - Cheers!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

Today's ride: 25 miles (40 km)
Total: 985 miles (1,585 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Patrick O'HaraNice landscape shots today. Pint description was mouth watering.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago