Gresham! - An American Summer, 2023 - CycleBlaze

June 20, 2023

Gresham!

My day begins with a drive over to the east side to the Clinton Street Coffeehouse for a long overdue coffee date with Bruce.  It was a mistake to drive, I realize once I’m underway, because the weather is unexpectedly nice and I should have biked.  I just wasn’t quick enough on my feet this morning, still fixed on the idea that the morning was likely to be wet and the car would work better.

Back home a few hours later, Rachael and I bat around plans for the day.  We want to ride together, but it takes awhile settling on a route.  I’m interested in a ride into the hills, but neither of us is quite that ambitious today.  We decide on a hybrid idea - we’ll ride out the Springwater Corridor toward Gresham until it starts feeling uncomfortable and then double back and ride south toward Oregon City until we get our target miles in (42 for Rachael; ‘Oh, whatever’ for myself).

The big surprise for the day is the ride to Gresham.  This used to be one of the mainstay rides in our schedule - it’s a nice 40 mile OAB, and it’s a gateway to rides further east toward Boring or north to the Columbia.  We haven’t ridden all the way out to Gresham for probably four years though, because since then the homelessness situation developed the the ride has felt uncomfortable if not outright unsafe.  The last time we tested it out, last winter sometime, we found it better but turned back at the I-205 underpass when we found the trail still pretty fouled with trash, broken glass, and unkempt camps crowding the trail.  The loss of the Springwater Corridor has been Exhibit A for our unhappiness with the city over the past three or more years.

To our delight, the trail seems just fine today.  Not quite normal yet, but the tent sites are pretty scattered and relatively tidy, and recreational cyclists and walkers are starting to come back.  We ride for miles waiting to come to a spot where we think we should turn back, but it never comes.  We bike all the way to Gresham and then continue on for another mile or so before turning back - just enough for Rachael to reach her goal, with a mile to spare.  

The Broadway Bridge a few days ago, and now Tilikum Crossing. I should keep a gallery of Rachael Crossing the Bridge shots and see how many I can collect this summer.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Janice BranhamBeautiful cable bridge. We'll be coming across this one soon on our way into Portland. Thanks for the preview.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Janice BranhamIt will be soon! I can’t believe you’ll be leaving the Palouse soon.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
In Gresham! As near as I can tell, we haven’t been here since 2018.
Heart 5 Comment 0
There’s a small Japanese Garden in Gresham’s city park that’s worth a stop with more time and no one along to hold up.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The bridge to Tsuru Island. If I come out on my own we’ll take a quick tour.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Biking back, I’m running through my head all the rides that are possible again now that I’d all but forgotten about.  It really does make us feel better about the city and optimistic that it might come back to something like the place we used to love so much.

So that’s great; but there’s more.  I’m feeling really good physically!  We keep what counts for a strong pace all the way home - 13 to 14 mph - and I really feel pretty normal.  It’s another outing, like Saturday’s ride to Sauvie Island, that makes me feel optimistic and hopeful about my condition.  I catch myself wondering if I should take on a second shot at riding my age in miles one of these days (I already completed the first one for the year back in Tucson).  I could start with an early morning ride to Gresham and have breakfast at that restaurant I used to stop in at if they’re still in business.  I make a mental note to check the map when we get home.

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 146 miles (235 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Patrick O'HaraYou're an inspiring dude, Scott. Glad to hear that you're feeling well.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Janice BranhamGlad to see how you bounced right back from your terrible no good day. It sounds like you have a lot more territory to cover. I'll be following along!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago