An unhappy Fathers Day - An American Summer, 2023 - CycleBlaze

June 18, 2023

An unhappy Fathers Day

Today figured to be another rainout, but when I drag myself back from Caffe Umbria Rachael points me to the weather forecast.  It’s improved, and now looks like it will be dry for the next few hours.  It changes our plan for the day, made just last night: Rachael was going to go to the gym, while I wasn’t; and we’d follow that up with a late afternoon lunch followed by a film at Living Room Theaters.

With this unexpected break in the rain though, Rachael thinks a hike in the West Hills sounds more attractive than sitting on a stationary bike, and I decide I’ll take a ride along the waterfront.  She leaves soon afterwards.

I’m about to leave myself when the phone rings.  It’s Shawn, calling to wish me a Happy Father’s Day.  It comes as a shock - as lame as it sounds, until this morning neither of us knew this was on the calendar for today.  Shawn and I haven’t talked for awhile, so we have a lengthy conversation.  He and the girls are fine, but his big news is that a couple of trees he planted in the back yard last summer are history already.  He had to pull them when both succumbed to gnawing by rabbits.

As soon as we hang up I call up dad to wish him well.  We have a short conversation, but about as effective a one as is possible over the phone with hearing as poor as his has become.  We’ll have a much better visit when we drive up to Seattle sometime in the next few weeks.

While I’ve been on the phone I’ve had my eyes out the window watching a murky sky working its way upriver from the direction of Sauvie Island.  By the time I hang up with dad the gloom has settled in over the neighborhood and soon it’s raining hard.  Thoughts of a bike ride go out the door, replaced by concerns for Rachael up in the hills somewhere without an umbrella (which is its own interesting story).

Something wicked this way comes.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Miraculously, Rachael misses the downpour.  It doesn’t last long, and she was still up in the hills and out of the blast area when it came down.  Soon after she returns it’s time to head out to Jakes for the main meal of the day.  

It’s grey but dry when we leave the restaurant.  I was sorry to not have gotten out on the bike this morning, but I’ve still got a few hours before the show we’re planning on starts so I’m back on the plan of going down to the waterfront.  It’s about the birds again, of course - I’m thinking some gulls might have moved inland ahead of the weather.

I check in at Weather.com first, and it looks like I might have an hour plus before the rain returns.  I’m an optimist and think that’s enough time to make it worthwhile, so within a few minutes the bike and I are in the elevator zooming down to street level.

As it happens, this is a really terrible idea - even worse than I’m soon to discover.  I don’t have an hour and a half, as it happens.  In fact, I don’t even have five minutes.  I’ve only gone three blocks when I feel a few sprinkles, and within three more blocks it’s obvious I’m going the wrong direction.  I take one shot of the grim sky and then make a dash back to the apartment.

Grey on grey.
Heart 1 Comment 3
Keith AdamsIf I had to face that sort of weather day after day I think it'd drive me mad.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Keith AdamsYes, but we have no complaints. Save for this one day we’ve had spectacularly good weather since returning home. We’ll, for most the last two months actually.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Keith AdamsTo Scott AndersonYes, I noticed on the following day's posts that the weather was much improved.

Ironically, here in the mid-Atlantic we had a month or more with virtually no cloud cover let alone actual rain but starting a week or so ago we've settled into a pattern that includes near-daily dousings.

I often joke that the weather forecasters hereabouts simply make a recording and play it daily from Memorial Day to Labor Day: "Hazy hot and humid. Highs in the mid- to upper 90s, 50 percent chance of afternoon or evening thunderstorms, some possibly heavy."
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

I’m about two blocks from the apartment when I hear a loud thunderclap behind me.  Later, I’ll learn that the storm was more severe just to the north and produced a rare funnel cloud up by Camas.  It’s starting to rain hard by the time I’m home, and I’m wet enough that I decide I need to leave the bike in the basement to dry out rather than taking it up right away to the apartment.  The gate to the garage is open when I bike up, so rather than wait around outside in the rain for it to close and me to open it again, I piggyback behind the car that’s just driving in.

I shouldn’t have done that.  I’m spiraling down the ramps when a security guard steps out and confronts me to tell me I need to leave, thinking I’m an intruder.  I explain myself and the situation and show him my key set, and he gives me a pass and soon disappears.  As soon as he’s gone I hang Roddy up on a rack and head for the entrance to the elevator.

BAM!!  I must have had my mind still back on the interaction with the guard, because somehow I thought the clear plate glass window my head is suddenly recoiling from was an open door and tried to walk through it.  I’m at least luckier than Rachael, who tried this stunt about ten years ago at a pizza restaurant and ended up with a bloody mess and a broken nose to show for it.  I led with my forehead at least, which is better.  But I hit the glass hard enough that I recoiled to a vertical position, slightly stunned, and then crumpled to the pavement.

I lay there for a minute, assessing my condition while listening for cars that might come my way and double down on the damage.  I’ve got a developing lump on my forehead, I’ve banged my left elbow on the ground, both knees hurt, and I’m worried about my left wrist that feels stiff and painful.  I get up gingerly, but everything seems more or less in working order so I proceed upstairs to share my woes with Rachael.

I still can’t believe it. They need to put a silouhette of a crumpled man on the glass to warn folks off.
Heart 0 Comment 11
Jacquie GaudetWow. It sure looks like an open door!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Patrick O'HaraI'd chalk that up as bad design.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesLooks like a lawsuit waiting to happen.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Suzanne GibsonYou can't be the first one to do that.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Kelly IniguezI agree with Suzanne, surely that has happened before. I have a cousin who did the same thing. She was a championship pitcher for her softball team. They were at a motel for the big final. She went running down the hall to the swimming pool, right through a plate glass door. Sliced her pitching arm up, and, "Poof!" That was the end of her promising pitching career.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Kelly IniguezOh my gosh. What a horrifying story!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Gregory GarceauWhen I was a teen-ager, I once walked right through a patio screen door while carrying a plate of hotdogs from the kitchen to the grill. There was no banged up forehead and elbow like you, there was no broken nose like Rocky, and there was no end to a promising athletic career (wrestling in my case) like Kelly's cousin. My only injury was shame. Shame in not seeing the screen, shame in that my friend's parents saw me destroy their screen door, and shame in dropping everybody's lunch onto the ground.

Now I'm a little ashamed that I shared that silly memory.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jon AylingOuch! Yep I've done this to. Walked full pelt into a cafe door when I was working in Cambridge. The customers looked genuinely shocked, I laughed it off but was pretty shaken up for the rest of the day. I think I squashed my sandwich as well.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Jon AylingI appreciate yours and all the other comments on this. They prompted me to speak with the building managers about the incident. I was pleased last night to see that for the time being at least they posted flyers on the glass on all of these doors, at eye-level. Maybe they’ll do something more permanent as a visual warning.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Graham FinchHopefully you've recovered OK. That window/door design is ridiculous.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Graham FinchIt’s pretty crazy alright. I let the building managers know, and they’ve for now at least put up flyers on all of these windows at eye level. It needs something more permanent, but at least they’re aware of the problem.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

So that was painful.  Fortunately though there was no real damage other than a minor scrape on my elbow that’s messy enough to need bandaging.  Nothing seems broken, and when I wake up the next morning I’ll be pleased to find I feel nearly normal.

After this, we’ve lost interest in the show and decide to just sit on the couch and watch something on Netflix.  The sky is still gloomy afterwards, and I take one more shot of it before calling it a day.  I’m really enjoying our vista up here with the great views we get of the weather formations to the north.

We’ve seen a succession of dramatic skies over the last few days. Also, something I hadn’t noticed at first is that we can see the Saint Johns and Burlington Northern Bridges.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Unfortunately, I’ll also find out in the morning that I wasn’t the only casualty on the scene.  My camera was in my coat pocket and must have been fatally injured when it and I hit the pavement together.  I didn’t realize this until I tried to fire it up and found it totally lifeless.  I’ve never seen it like this before.  On the chance that it somehow has a dead battery I tried charging it, but other than a flickering red light there was no response.  I tried swapping in the spare battery, but still nothing.  

I did some reading on this symptom, and none of the helpful suggestions apply; and two troubleshooting threads ended up with the statement that if none of the suggestions make a difference, it’s likely got an internal injury.  Seems likely to me - most cameras don’t like to fall a couple of feet and hit the pavement.  Sad and frustrating.

So here’s a mystery though.  Does this make sense?  Here’s the sequence of events:

  • The camera and I crash to the floor, apparently injuring both to varying degrees.
  • I take a photo of the offending window with the camera.
  • Three hours later I take a photo of the sky, and then shut down the camera and put it on the shelf for the night.
  • The next morning the poor camera’s a goner, apparently having died in its sleep.  RIP.
Apprenticing its new role as an expensive paperweight.
Heart 0 Comment 10
Bill ShaneyfeltGot moisture inside maybe? Pull battery and dessicate with battery door open might fix it if so.

Or moisture could have fried the electronics like my first digital about a week after I got it. Took over 5 months to get it back from the mfgr for repairs, but thankfully I had paid for a repair warranty when I got it, but still it was a really long time.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Bill ShaneyfeltPossibly, but it seems unlikely. The camera really didn’t get wet at all. I’ll try your suggestion though, which is something that hadn’t occurred to me.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Scott AndersonI figured at least one can hope!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesIt looks so lifelike, lying on its napkin.

I've often thought that the on/off button seems recessed and weak. I guess I would be compulsively pressing that various ways.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Steve Miller/GrampiesYup. Thanks for the thought. Tried that, including holding it down for a prolonged period. Also tried opening the battery compartment and pressing the battery down in case the contacts were corroded or something. Nada (I’m practicing for our trip to Spain).
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesTo Scott AndersonDodie says since the camera took pictures after the fall, it's non function now could be coincidence, or not 100% due to the fall. That leads her to say "How about the warranty?"
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Steve Miller/GrampiesI’m a terrible bookkeeper, but I’m planning to check the warranty and pursue that; because you’re right, it could be a coincidence. In the meantime I’m buying a new one. If they replace it, great - I’ve got a backup for the future - but it’s likely to take a long time.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Bruce LellmanSo sorry for your crash and camera fail. There are a couple of repair places in Portland that you might take it to and let them have a look at it.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Graham FinchSad that it doesn't work... it looks in very good condition seeing as it's well travelled. Have you bought a direct replacement?
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Graham FinchYup. It arrives Sunday. The last one in stock. I’ll see if this one’s repairable, and if it is it will just go into storage until needed.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

Today's ride: 1 mile (2 km)
Total: 104 miles (167 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 0