In Dénia: Pego-Oliva marsh - The Seven Year Itch - CycleBlaze

March 11, 2024

In Dénia: Pego-Oliva marsh

I’m behind again.  There are no significant crises or news items to report, we’re both feeling well, let’s blitz this report and get to the photos.

The day gets off to a slow, relaxed start.  Rachael starts the laundry and then dashes out to a different grocery because the small market she went to yesterday hardly had  anything.  Then: scrambled eggs and toast, hang the laundry out to dry, enjoy a second cup of coffee.  Very nice.  

A dryer with a view. Should be done by the time we return, I think.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We both have outings planned.  Rachael’s hiking up to a monastery on the lower slopes of the mountain we see from our window (posted separately).  I’m biking east to a large protected marsh to see if there are any birds about.  Because we’re getting a late start and have to be back for a 2:00 lunch reservation, we’re tight on time.  My ride ends up getting shortened from what I had planned because of this, and also because I spend five minutes trying to get out of our building.  My fault, if I’d only known - I used the key to try to unlock it to get out, but the effect apparently was to lock it shut; and then the key wouldn’t open it.  Awful.

I call Rachael to come down and help me escape, since she managed to get out herself this morning.  She comes down but can’t open it now either because I’ve apparently screwed us.  We’re finally saved when a resident arrives, opens it from the outside, and then shakes her finger to pantomime us to not use the key on the inside in the future.  Nice to know!

Finally! Out of the building and on the bike route east of town on this short (about four mile long) via verde.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Nice all around.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I’m puzzled by this planting, one of several like it I’ll see. It’s a small lot with blossoming trees planted in an array. Some sort of wood crop?
Heart 1 Comment 0
Someone will recognize this.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltMaybe Jacaranda?
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jacaranda_mimosifolia
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Scott AndersonTo Bill ShaneyfeltMaybe. The blossoms do look like that, but the erect growth pattern is odd - they almost look like a stand of poplars.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
The views are great to the east as I approach the next small mountain, Morro de Segaria.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Getting closer.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Mountains and citrus of some sort.
Heart 3 Comment 0

After the via verde ends I’m back on the roads briefly and then on bike lanes most of the rest of the way to the marsh.  It’s all quite bike friendly, and I see many bikers and walkers.  One British chap, Tony, is stopped by the side of the path and we chat for a bit, and then also with his three companions when they arrive.  A nice group, of somewhere in our age range.  And serious riders - one of the two women wears a Mont Ventoux jersey.  They tell us how wonderful Dénia is - they’ve been coming down here each winter for many years, for the sun, hiking and biking.  

Before we part Tony gives me his phone number in England.  He’s from Coventry, which we won’t see this summer; but his nephew is from York and he offers to put us in touch when we get there.  We probably won’t take him up on it, but it’s a very nice offer.

No longer the via verde, but a nice paved side path alongside the road.
Heart 3 Comment 0
There are about four or five miles like this, where one lane of an all but abandoned road is green-striped for bikes. All the traffic is nearby, on the newer highway.
Heart 4 Comment 0

It’s just past noon when I get to the marsh, so I’ve barely got time to probe it before turning back.  I bike in a short ways, but can’t see much anyway because I’m walled in by giant reeds.  On the way out though I look across the highway and see a bit of open water and a few birds.  I leave the bike, cross the highway, and squeeze myself against the opposite shoulder while I briefly check out the bird scene.

They’re too far out for a good view, but a few new names show up.  Right behind my back, two fire engines and three other emergency vehicles race past with their sirens blaring, a little too close for comfort.  I’m glad they’re not here for me. 

Looking across Pego-Oliva Marsh.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rough riding, and I can’t see anything anyway. Very little return on the investment.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Bruce LellmanWhat do you mean you can't see anything. I love this photo.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
So I turn back.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Bruce LellmanAnd this one.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
#159: Black kite
Heart 1 Comment 0
#160: Black-winged stilt.
Heart 4 Comment 2
Bruce LellmanI wonder why they are called stilts!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Scott AndersonTo Bruce LellmanReally. I’ve taken a number of photos of stilts, but this one gets the point across best.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
#161: White wagtail
Heart 3 Comment 0

I allow myself about five minutes of staring at the stilts and ibises on the water wondering what else might show up but soon decide I’m out of time and head back.  the plan is to bike straight through, unless a reason to stop crops up.  A few do, but I’m still back in time to save my bacon.

Heading for home. Don’t be late for lunch, I’ve been warned.
Heart 2 Comment 0
A look back at Morro de Segaria.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Looking ahead to the south this time, that’s our mountain, Massif del Mongo. Dénia fans out right below it.
Heart 1 Comment 0
#162: Eurasian magpie
Heart 2 Comment 0
Worth a stop.
Heart 7 Comment 0
Also.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Lunch is awesome.  While we enjoy our meal we chat with the woman at the next table, a Spaniard who speaks flawless English - she taught language in Virginia for the government for several years, lived in England for several more and picked up a spouse, the British gent sitting opposite here.  They moved down to Dénia some years back, and totally love this place.  Everyone seems to, including ourselves.

Our tobmet starter, a variation on the same dish we had back in Mallorca. Excellent.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Two soles for two souls.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 21 miles (34 km)
Total: 112 miles (180 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 14
Comment on this entry Comment 0