In Dénia: Pare Pere Hermitage walk - The Seven Year Itch - CycleBlaze

March 11, 2024

In Dénia: Pare Pere Hermitage walk

Denia is a beautiful place to hike but the route I took to get out of town was a fairly busy road with no shoulder.  But once I got past that I was on a great trail along the base of Montgó Massif with great views!  The first place of interest was the Pare Pere hermitage 

A beautiful newly whitewashed home on the way up!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Quite a bit different than the subdivisions in the United States.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Karen PoretI think the architecture resembles either back alleys of Coronado, CA or San Diego, CA.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Going up!
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
The Hermitage Pare Pere
Heart 1 Comment 0
The keeper of the hermitage.
Heart 3 Comment 0

The next several photos are walking around the hermitage.

Heart 2 Comment 0
This is the structure Pare Pere lived in for the time. It was originally a well.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Into the woods!
Heart 2 Comment 0

The next several photos were taken on the Cami de la Colonia del Montgo along the base Of the Montgo Mastiff.  I wish I would have had time to go further!

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
What a great place for a toast!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
This was my favorite spot. I wish I could have gotten closer!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heading back.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Denia Mosque.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Gregory GarceauSometimes I read things like "Pare Pere" and wonder what that even means. Then I remember to ask Google or Bing before I post a comment and expose myself as an ignoramus. Now that I know, I can say the Pare Pere Hermitage is pretty cool--especially that little stone house he lived in. He was centuries before his time in the "Tiny House Movement."
Reply to this comment
1 month ago