To Trujillio - Follow My Heart - CycleBlaze

April 10, 2024

To Trujillio

Sometime yesterday Suzanne and I discovered that we had two completely different routes to Trujillo, our destination for today. She had plotted a shorter, direct route on a national road that paralleled the autoroute, while I had chosen an indirect route through the countryside, the W route I called it (see map below). Janos was feeling a bit under the weather so he opted for the direct route while Suzanne and I chose the meandering path for our last day of cycling on this tour. 

 It was not long before we were reconsidering our choice. The first 14 miles were on EX206, a regional road with a modest shoulder and lots of traffic. We kept our heads down until reaching the small village of Torremocha where we stopped for a hot drink and a pastry. The next 14 miles were cycling bliss, on quiet roads that took us up and down a countryside full of wildflowers and cattle. Layers of hills and snow-capped peaks rose in the distance. It was a bit reminiscent of the Big Hole region of Montana, where vast expanses of rangeland are rimmed by the Rockies.

Break time in Torremocha
Heart 5 Comment 0
Great sighs of relief and contentment as leave Torremocha and we turn on to the smaller roads
Heart 4 Comment 0
Wonderful country
Heart 4 Comment 0
We travelled long straight roads through fields of wildflowers
Heart 3 Comment 0
And we travelled roads that curved up and down through a bumpy landscape
Heart 4 Comment 0
Snow capped peaks in the distance
Heart 3 Comment 0
Taste good?
Heart 4 Comment 0
Suzanne was alarmed to find me standing in front of two seemingly unfenced cows, calming taking their photo - until I pointed to the cattle-guard across the road. I was confident they would not cross it, and I must of convinced her because she was soon off her bike snapping away
Heart 3 Comment 0
Where are you headed?
Heart 1 Comment 0
I'm using the secret tunnel to join my friends on the other side of the road
Heart 2 Comment 0
Cycling along the W route
Heart 6 Comment 0

After a short climb out of Plasenzuela, our route joined EX381 for the last miles to Trujillo. It was narrow, winding road with modest traffic through a fairly uninteresting landscape. By then, my mind was consumed with issues that needed attending once I’d arrived in Trujillo – briefly, my credit card had been rejected at our Cáceres hotel, my eSim account was blocked and I couldn’t top up; and my online French classes were starting again that night. It was with great relief that we finally arrived at our Parador in Trujillo.

Vivien George has a short rest in Plasenzuela while I munch on some cashews
Heart 3 Comment 0
Two caged horses in Plasenzuela
Heart 4 Comment 0
Suzanne almost blends in with the wildflowers
Heart 8 Comment 0
Trujillo comes into view
Heart 5 Comment 0
The end of the ride
Heart 4 Comment 0

 I spent the rest of the afternoon online and on the phone trying to sort out all the complicated issues I mentioned above. Some were resolved, some were not but I did get some clarification on the eSim - apparently I had failed to register the eSim, which is a requirement for France. Oops.

 I finished up my French class and put all my woes behind me to join Suzanne and Janos for dinner to celebrate our nine days together. It had been a great joy spending time with these two wonderful souls and I look forward to seeing them for a brief rendevouz in a week’s time. In the meanwhile, bonne route to two of my favorites.

The W route to Trujillo
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 39 miles (63 km)
Total: 501 miles (806 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 13
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Rachael AndersonSooty about anll your issues! I guess you haven’t had to deal with that an e-sim recently.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Susan CarpenterTo Rachael AndersonThanks Rachael. Everything things sorted out now - thankfully
Reply to this comment
1 month ago