To Paris - Easy as Pie - Follow My Heart - CycleBlaze

February 29, 2024 to March 1, 2024

To Paris - Easy as Pie

It seems that no matter how often one prepares for a long tour, the process is neither the same nor anxiety free. There are always new tasks to complete, final decisions as to what to bring and what to leave, and the unexpected hiccups when packing up Vivien George. This time it was an emergency trip to my local bike mechanic to remove the pedals, which failed to budge even under bombardment with my plastic hammer. Matt gave me a few tips and recommended a longer hex wrench, but I still brought my hammer. Somehow, I managed to finish packing and check off all items on my long to-do list by the time my sister Jeanie and her husband Ken came by this morning to take me to the airport.

 I had booked a one-way ticket to Paris and, similar to the Andersons, was questioned as to how long I planned to stay in France. My long stay visa abrogated the need for a return ticket, and I was soon through security and settled in for the two hour wait for my flight to JFK. I had been a little hesitant in booking through JFK, but my American Airlines flight from RDU landed in Terminal 8, the departing terminal for the international leg. The flight to Paris was only six hours, barely enough time to catch a couple of hours sleep between dinner and breakfast. I breezed through customs and both bags and bike were promptly delivered – it was about the smoothest trip to CDG I’ve experienced.

As the song says, all my bags are backed and I'm ready to go...leaving on a jet plane
Heart 5 Comment 0
View of Manhattan from JFK Terminal 8
Heart 2 Comment 0

Christiane and Betty welcomed me to the Paris apartment with big smiles, open arms and a warm cup of coffee to stave off the early spring chill. Betty made her famed mushroom risotto for lunch and Christiane and I took an afternoon walk through the nearby Saint Lambert park. It was a wonderful welcome to Paris, spoiled only by the discovery that my favorite bicycle shop had closed – an great loss to me and Vivien George. But I’ll worry about that another day – today, I am back in Paris!

Betty and serves up a hearty helping of her mushroom risotto
Heart 5 Comment 0
A bit chilly, but Christiane is excited for our walk to Square Saint-Lambert
Heart 4 Comment 0
Young Parisians also enjoying an afternoon in Square Saint-Lambert
Heart 4 Comment 0
My local bike store, L'Hirondelle, has closed. Max and Lionel always went above and beyond to help me and Vivien George, and the store closing is a real loss.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 13
Comment on this entry Comment 13
ann and steve maher-wearySusan, Congrats on being in Europe again! I wondered why we didn't hear from you about a perhaps trip to the Maritimes and Bathur this fall, so it was lovely to read about your summer and fall adventures! Have a great adventure this spring and summer. We will be following along! It unfortunately looks like we won't make it to Europe this year, so we will be travelling along with you instead. Cheers.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Rich FrasierWelcome back, Susan!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Scott AndersonHey, neighbor! Suddenly it feels like you’re just around the corner!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jonathan HechtSusan,

I’m Jonathan Hecht, a CB'er who happens to be in Paris for another couple of weeks finishing up a 2 month stay. While I’ve only done one journal (on that other site), I’ve done lots of European touring and have had the pleasure of meeting many of the people in your circle.

I don’t know what your plans look like, but if you'd like to share a cup of coffee or a verre de vin in the next few days, I’ve got a Navigo card and two good feet…but no bike on this trip!

By the way, my apartment is in Saint Germaine des Prés, so I have good access to transportation. Also, I don’t have cell service, but can be reached by iMessage using jphecht@yahoo.com (or direct email at the same address).

And welcome to Paris…

Jonathan
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Susan CarpenterTo ann and steve maher-wearyAnn and Steve - Great to hear from you. The trip to NB got pushed aside this year for the Roots trip, but I do hope to get up to see you. I'll miss you in Europe this year - so more motivation to journey up your way after I'm back in US. Hope things are going well.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Susan CarpenterTo Rich FrasierThanks Rich - I hope to get down to see you and Robyn sometime this year. I'll keep in touch
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Susan CarpenterTo Scott AndersonI am just around the corner - so please don't hesitate to call if you/Rachael need anything. I hope you beat off the bug and are soon feeling stronger.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Susan CarpenterTo Jonathan HechtHello Jonathan - great to hear from you. I'm in Paris for a couple of weeks and would love to meet up. I'll contact you and we can set something
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Susan CarpenterYep. We’ll do that, one of these days when we’re just sitting around recovering. We’ve got a few of those lined up.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Jonathan HechtJonathan! I lost track of you! I should have reached out the last time we were in town. Sorry!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Keith KleinHi,
Welcome back, or should I say bienvenue en France? Pedals tighten as you ride, so don’t put them on with the hammer. A tiny dab of grease on the threads helps get them off when the time comes.
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Susan CarpenterTo Keith KleinHi Keith - good to hear from you. I usually only hand tighten the pedals when I put them on and there is varying difficulty when removing them. The hammer is usually a last resort, one I would be happy to avoid if a little grease will help. Thanks for the tip.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago