Cycle Blaze Meet-ups - Follow My Heart - CycleBlaze

February 28, 2024

Cycle Blaze Meet-ups

A Spur-of-the-Moment Trip to Europe

October 30 - Nov 14, 2023

I returned from my spring tour in Europe in late May and began the task of re-adjusting to life in the US. I made the decision to forgo a fall European tour for a prolonged stay in the US - I’ve lived in North Carolina for only a few years, and thought an extended time here would allow me to form stronger connections with my new home. As fall approached, however, I was really missing Europe and got the harebrained idea of a quick trip overseas to visit friends and do some touristing.

The idea came about as a consequence of selling my condo. An unusual feature (to me) of NC real estate is what is known as “due diligence money”. It is essentially money put up by prospective buyers to demonstrate that their offer is earnest, what I knew in Iowa as “earnest money”.  In Iowa, those funds go into an escrow account and is applied to the final settlement, so it’s money you don’t actually see. In NC, you get the money upfront – at the time the offer is made. Suddenly, I had an unexpected 10K in cash and rashly decided to spend two weeks in Europe in early November.

The first stop was Gauting, Germany to visit Suzanne and Janos. We spent three wonderful days mixing cycling with a short trip into Munich for a photography exhibition. We  enjoyed leisurely meals at the dining table, exchanging life stories and plans for cycling meet-ups in 2024. Suzanne and I shared our workout routines – laughing as we rolled about on the floor, hopelessly trying to contort our bodies into positions suited only for the young and supple.

We were much more comfortable on the bikes. I used Suzanne’s old eBike as we explored some of their favorite routes around Gauting. The late fall weather was cool and crisp, with spectacular foliage. It was a special time in all respects.

Let's go ride our bikes!
Heart 6 Comment 0
Suzanne shows off the new harness for her serious camera
Heart 9 Comment 5
Jacquie GaudetThat looks like the one I’m thinking about getting!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Jacquie GaudetIt works very well, doesn't bounce around and sits firmly, but is easy to bring up to eye level. If I want to shoot with a low POV, I have to take the strap off my neck. Not complicated, though. My only concern is that the camera is very exposed to dust while riding. I'm going to take it on our next tour and hope my camera survives!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Suzanne GibsonI don't think I'd ride with my camera on a strap. I usually put it in my handlebar bag, where it's easy to get. This strap looks ideal for hiking!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Charmaine RuppoltTo Jacquie GaudetI've had a similar strap for my camera and rode with it with no problems. It's nice to have the camera handy. However, I stopped using my camera long ago - - much easier to just use the cell phone for decent pictures, although not as clear.
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Charmaine RuppoltI think it may be dependent on riding position. I dislike riding super-upright.

I often just have my phone with me on day rides while touring, in my efforts to lighten the load and keep up with Al (really, not be too far behind), and usually regret it.
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Wending through the woods on the way to Starnberg
Heart 5 Comment 0
Peak foliage and alpine peaks
Heart 12 Comment 1
Starnberger See
Heart 5 Comment 0
Along the shore of Starnberger See
Heart 5 Comment 0
I'm not the only one in hog heaven
Heart 6 Comment 0
Breakfast time in Gauting
Heart 5 Comment 0
Janos joins in the fun on our second outing - we're off to Neuried for lunch
Heart 10 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 0
Requisite cow pic
Heart 5 Comment 0
Fall splendor
Heart 5 Comment 0
Tall trees and happy cyclists
Heart 6 Comment 0
I so enjoyed being able to ride once again with Suzanne and Janos
Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

After three days in Gauting, it was on to Paris by train. The first leg to Mannheim was unremarkable, but the train from Mannheim to Paris was overcrowded and I was crammed into a double-facing seat with little leg room and even less personal space. After three hours, I arrived in Paris and made my way to my "second” home in the 15th arrondissement. Hoorah! My plans for France included lots of strolling and museum visits as well as a weekend in Burgundy with friends Carla and Alex, who have a house in the medieval town of Noyers.

 All plans were foiled when Covid finally caught up with me in Noyers  –  I surmise that I was exposed on the train to Paris. I retreated to my Paris apartment to let the infection run it’s course. The first couple of days were rough, but I was soon fever-free and well enough for a planned meeting with my friend Christiane in Rome. It was a brief but wonderful introduction to the Eternal City, complete with my own personal tour guides. Christiane had once lived in Rome and her step-son Juan Guido, (a former Italian soap opera star), still resides there. Especially enchanting were the night-time strolls through the quiet boulevards and streets of Rome  under the watchful eye of St. Peter’s Basilica. 

 It had been a whirlwind but very enjoyable trip. I made it back to North Carolina in time for the holidays and then was off for another Cycle Blaze meet-up in the Arizona desert.

In Noyers with Carla and Alex
Heart 6 Comment 0
I kept moving closer to the fire to stave off a chill, not realizing the chill was due to the Covid virus replicating exponentially inside me
Heart 8 Comment 0
In Rome
Heart 6 Comment 0
The outlook is definitely better
Heart 4 Comment 0
Along the streets of Rome
Heart 5 Comment 0

In Tucson with Team Anderson

January 9-17, 2024

The last cycling outing before heading back to Europe was an January trip to Tucson fo a week of biking and hiking with Scott and Rachael Anderson. It is always a special time when I meet up with CycleBlaze friends, and this week was exceptional. In addition to a reunion with Scott and Rachael, I enjoyed a super day of cycling with Janice and Barry Branham and had wonderful dinner with Kelley Iniguez at the legendary El Charro Café. 

 In all, Scott, Rachael and I had four fantastic days of cycling, covering much of the famed Tucson Loop and venturing afield into the Oro Valley and out to the San Xavier del Bac Mission. Rachael and I were our own for three other days – once for a short afternoon walk about town, and two days of hiking. The prospect of hiking with Rachael was a bit daunting, but she graciously slowed her usual blistering pace and I managed not to hurt myself. 

Scott has detailed our activities their Winterlude 2023 journal, and I’ll not add too much here – just share some pictures and a few comments in the captions. But I do want to thank Scott and Rachael for allowing me to tag along and for a being such good friends and gracious folk.

Meeting up with Janice and Barry Barry Branham for Day 1 ride along the Rillito Wash
Heart 5 Comment 0
A serendipitous meet-up with Kelly while we were all admiring the magnificent mural on the opposite side of the wash
Heart 4 Comment 0
Rachael on a mission
Heart 3 Comment 0
We capped this all round great day with early dinner at Locale and a Cycle Blaze group photo
Heart 5 Comment 0
Passing under the Joining Hands arch on a day 3 out and back along the Julian Wash. There seems to be something missing here....
Heart 4 Comment 0
...oh dear! I forgot my helmet. Here it is, safely at home, eyeing a clif bar.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Another super CB dinner meet-up with Kelly at El Charro Cafe
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heading up the Oro Valley on day 4
Heart 3 Comment 0
Lunch stop at Steam Pump Ranch
Heart 4 Comment 0
Leaving Steam Pump Ranch, we made our way up through some nice suburban neighborhoods...
Heart 4 Comment 0
...and enjoyed some rollers on the way to the highest point of the day
Heart 3 Comment 0
Not quite to the top...the final push topped out at 18% after which we delighted in a four mile drop back to the Loop.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Scott and Rachael arrive at my AirBnb for our day 6 ride out to the San Xavier del Bac Mission
Heart 3 Comment 0
On Mission Road
Heart 4 Comment 0
The San Xavier del Bac Mission
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hiking the Phoneline Trail with Rachael? - You bet I'm ready!!
Heart 4 Comment 0
For my next act, I'll do the Flamingo pose! Not!
Heart 6 Comment 0
On the Phoneline Trail - an easy and scenic hike in Sabino Canyon. Highly recommended
Heart 3 Comment 0
On the Phoneline Trail
Heart 3 Comment 0
Hiking destination for day 7 was the Arizona A, atop Sentinel Peak
Heart 2 Comment 0
Our route took us through downtown Tucson and past the old city hall in El Presidio Park
Heart 3 Comment 0
This crested saguaro evoked a women with outstretched arms reaching for the sky
Heart 7 Comment 0
Lunch break at the stone gazebo lookout near the top of Sentinel Peak
Heart 3 Comment 0
For some reason, this roadrunner did not run
Heart 5 Comment 0
Two of the best - thanks for a memorable week!
Heart 5 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonIt’s great to have a reminder of the wonderful visit we had with you!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

As might be evident from this post (and some previous ones), the Cycle Blaze community has brought me great joy over the past few years - I consider my CB companions to be among my most cherished friends. Tomorrow I board a plane for Paris and seven months of living and touring in Europe. Several more CB meet-ups are in the works, and perhaps there will be some more that not yet on my radar. Here’s hoping to see you somewhere down the road.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 13
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Rachel and Patrick HugensHi Susan, love cycleblaze meetups. Can you believe it's been a year when we meet up in Morocco??
How did you get the visa?? Fantastic that you will be able to stay 7 months!
July 2-Sept29 we will be in Scandinavia....any chance you'd make it up that way?
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Susan CarpenterHi RacPat - Yes, Morocco seems like so long age, and yet so recent. I got a long stay visa from France, the whole process is almost all online and not too difficult, and I'd had one in 2022 as well. I don't have set plans right now for Aug and Sept, so I'll keep Scandinavia in mind.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Suzanne GibsonA lovely write-up, Susan! Thank you for your kind words. We loved having you here!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Rachael AndersonReading this made my day! We head out today. Hopefully, we will do okay.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Janice BranhamWe loved riding with you in Tucson. You really got to see a lot of the Old Pueblo that week. Best wishes for your European journey.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago