To Moura - Follow My Heart - CycleBlaze

March 28, 2024

To Moura

The day started with a pleasant breakfast in the company of two pairs of Scottish cyclists who were each headed for Mertola, though they had never met. I’d briefly encountered Naomi and Vint yesterday when I arrived at the Beatriz, they were on their way out to explore the town before the rains came. Over our shared breakfast, we got to know a little more about each other – they’re from Inverness and are out on short loop through the Alentejo beginning and ending in Evora. They haven’t done extended tours, and were interested in Cycle Blaze as a resource for possible future trips. Ronnie and Julie were quite experienced cyclists, and Ronnie had all sorts of route suggestions in Spain and Portugal, though I admit it was hard to understand him with his thick Scottish brogue and the fact that he was often talking while eating! 

 It was a short ride today to Moura, just over 20 miles with what promised to be a mostly brisk tailwind. Though still quite gusty, the winds were predicted to gradually lessen over the next few days, though the rains were persisting through the end of the week. It seemed though, that I would be able to get to Moura without getting a good sopping. After thanking the very kind staff at the Beatriz, I made my way through the streets of Serpa, heading towards Brinches under grey skies.

Vint and Naomi hail from Inverness and are doing a short circuit through the Alentejo on rented E-bikes
Heart 6 Comment 1
Scott AndersonI’ve always felt that the Scots should speak in subtitles.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Julie and Ronnie are experienced cyclists from Glasgow - they have mountain eBikes and Ronnie seems keen to try all the gravel trails. Julie was a little leery of encountering mud.
Heart 5 Comment 1
Rich FrasierIn every couple, there's one responsible person... :)
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
The Beatriz Hotel - I highly recommend it
Heart 6 Comment 0
Leaving Serpa
Heart 4 Comment 0
The ruins of the Serpa Castle
Heart 8 Comment 0

The N265 road to Brinches was a little more trafficked than I anticipated, one favored by farm trucks. However, just south of Brinches I veered off onto N386, a smaller road with virtually no traffic that took me all the way to the outskirts of Moura. Agriculture dominated the landscape, from the small shanties of farm workers to the rows upon rows upon rows of olive trees. Blue sky and sun made their appearance, and it sometimes seemed as if I travelling in a narrow strip between storm fronts. As it so often does, the sun was energizing, and I rolled along to Moura with nary a care in the world.

Just south of Brinches on a cloudy day
Heart 3 Comment 0
Portuguese drivers are very patient
Heart 11 Comment 0
Just a few of the seemingly millions of olive trees I passed today
Heart 4 Comment 0
A few old soldiers on a hillside.
Heart 7 Comment 0
Seventeen kms to go
Heart 4 Comment 0
One of the smaller dammed reservoirs in this region of the Alentejo
Heart 3 Comment 0
Crossing the Serpa dam
Heart 3 Comment 0
Rows and rows of olive trees, with one outlier
Heart 5 Comment 0
Aw shoot!
Heart 4 Comment 0
The cloud formations got quite dramatic along the weather fronts
Heart 10 Comment 0
Cycling the thin strip between sunshine and stormy weather
Heart 10 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

It was too early for check-in when I arrived in Moura, so I stowed Vivien George and set off for lunch. Though I was headed for a different restaurant, I happened on Retiro Ernesto, where the owner Rui kindly offered me a seat at one of their four tables. The restaurant is a small family affair, run by Rui and his wife Maria The take great pride in their offerings and I took immense pleasure in the conversation and food: starter of melted goat cheese with mango chutney, nuts and oregano and a main of pork and chickpea stew. Rui talked me into desert, a regional specialty, some type of almond flavored flan dish. It was such a lovely and relaxing meal that I forgot all about the weather, and was surprised when I walked out of the restaurant into a steady rain.

Arriving in Moura under blue skies
Heart 5 Comment 0
In Moura
Heart 10 Comment 0
In Moura
Heart 8 Comment 0
In Moura
Heart 10 Comment 0
Retiro do Ernesto - named in honor of their cat
Heart 5 Comment 2
Kelly IniguezI've especially enjoyed reading your past few days, as you've covered the same area we rode this summer. I saw this sign and went back to look at my photo of it. But, I do not see a photo. I'm glad you went one step further and ate there!

Your bad weather attitude is admirable. I think I'd be whiny by now!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Susan CarpenterTo Kelly IniguezHi Kelly. Glad to hear you’re enjoying the journal. It’s a great restaurant if you’re ever back that way
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Rui and Maria - a lovely couple, a lovely restaurant
Heart 10 Comment 0

By late afternoon, the off-again, on-again rains had stopped so I ventured out to see the Castillo de Moura, which “was for centuries the civic, political, religious, and military center of the city.” Though it had grown quite blustery, I decided to climb up on the walls for a panoramic view over the city and surrounding country side. As I made my way down and exited the castle walls, the rain began in earnest. I quickly donned my raincoat, but was cold and damp by the time I made it back to the hotel. I spent the rest of the evening under the covers, fighting off a cough, and wishing for the warm Iberian sunshine that I so enjoyed last spring.

Remnants of Moura Castle
Heart 6 Comment 0
Views over the countryside from Moura castle
Heart 3 Comment 0
Moura Castle
Heart 5 Comment 0
Moura Castle
Heart 3 Comment 0
The stairs looked inviting, so I climbed up to take a look
Heart 4 Comment 0
Nice view over the city
Heart 4 Comment 0
Walking the castle walls
Heart 7 Comment 0
I'll pass on climbing up those stairs - no handrail and too windy
Heart 6 Comment 0
A little windblown, but still smiling!
Heart 9 Comment 3
Rachael AndersonCongratulations, you made it!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Karen PoretYour photos are wonderful! Most look like paintings:)
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Susan CarpenterTo Karen PoretThank you for your kind words Karen
Reply to this comment
1 month ago

Today's ride: 21 miles (34 km)
Total: 202 miles (325 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 15
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Rachael AndersonWhat a great day until you got wet! I hope you’re cough doesn’t persist.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Scott AndersonDon’t get sick! In spite of the weather, it looks like you’re doing great.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Nancy GrahamYour photos of building, streets and ruins in Moura are beautiful and capture the feeling well. Now — stay well — take care of that cough.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Susan CarpenterTo Nancy GrahamThanks Nancy for your kind words and concern. I'm feeling a bit better
Reply to this comment
1 month ago