To Monsaraz - Follow My Heart - CycleBlaze

March 29, 2024

To Monsaraz

I woke this morning feeling sluggish after a fitful night of coughing – in hindsight I probably should have stayed off the walls of the Moura Castle. It was to be another day of intermittent rain and cold winds in the 15-20 mph range. I filled up on breakfast and set out for Monsaraz under gray cloudy skies, hoping that splotches of sunshine would light up my day. 

Shortly after crossing the Ardila River, I turned off onto the quiet N386 toward Maurão. And as I’d hope, the sun began to break through the clouds and small patches of blue sky appeared by the time I passed through Póvoa de São Miguel. 

Crossing the Ardila River
Heart 6 Comment 0
Lightening skies lighten my heart
Heart 6 Comment 1
Karen PoretBetter than lightning skies, to “light your heart”
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Cattle grazing in sunshine, with Marvo visible in background
Heart 2 Comment 0
You've got a little food hanging from your mouth
Heart 8 Comment 0
For sale in Póvoa de São Miguel
Heart 3 Comment 0
Sweeping the steps of the Church of São Miguel,
Heart 4 Comment 0
Palm fronds at the entry of the Church of São Miguel
Heart 6 Comment 0

The next twelve miles north to Maurão were a mixed bag – internal misery countered by uplifting scenery. First, the good news. The gently rolling terrain, lush landscape and quiet, well-surfaced road made for an outstanding ride. I passed across sections the Grande Lago Alqueva, the largest man-made lake in Europe, a reservoir formed by “impounding” the Guadiana River. The bad news was that I was feverish, alternating between being too hot and too cold. A cloudburst hit a few miles outside of Maurão had me limping into the city, wandering through narrow, one way alleyways that are characteristic of many places in Portugal. I didn’t find the hot coffee and pastry I was seeking, but did find a sunny spot in a small park where I nourished soul and my stomach with my picnic sandwich.

A lush landscape and gentle terrain
Heart 5 Comment 0
Spots of sunlight on a cloudy day
Heart 5 Comment 0
Sun and clouds cover the landscape
Heart 8 Comment 1
Scott AndersonSo green! So different than when we were here in the fall.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Passing through a section of the Grande Lago Alqueva
Heart 5 Comment 0
A small island in a big lake
Heart 4 Comment 0
Last photo before the cloudburst
Heart 3 Comment 0
Maurão beckons me
Heart 5 Comment 0
A sunny spot to sit a spell and enjoy a sandwich
Heart 2 Comment 0

The last ten miles included a long crossing of the reservoir and a steep climb up to Monsaraz. Neither was easy. The nearly one mile span over the reservoir included a bike lane separated from traffic with vertical poles. It was a bit intimidating, but I forged ahead until about a third of the way across when strong crosswinds forced me to dismount and walk the remaining distance. Soon after, the route turned off to Monsaraz and I faced the next daunting task of the day - 1.4 mi with an average 7.5% gradient, peaking at upwards of 12%.  Feeling weak, out of shape, and discouraged, I pedaled, pushed, pedaled, pushed, and pedaled to a large viewing area at the base of the city. 

It looks safe enough
Heart 1 Comment 0
Cows grazing in the sun with Monsaraz in the background
Heart 8 Comment 0
There's some work left to do before reaching Monsaraz
Heart 5 Comment 0
The castle of Monsaraz
Heart 6 Comment 0
We're almost there - let's just rest a bit and enjoy the views
Heart 8 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonWhat a beautiful spot!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Heart 5 Comment 0
The almost mile-long span across Grande Lago Alqueva
Heart 5 Comment 0
Monument honoring Cante Alentejanois, a choral musical genre from the Alentejo region
Heart 3 Comment 0

After a brief rest at the viewing area, it was one last push up the cobbles and into the city itself. I arrived to blue sky and brilliant sunshine, but 45 minutes early for check-in. Too drained to explore the town, I parked Vivien George and myself in a warm, sunny spot across from my lodging. It was bliss -until a chill wind brought in a new cloud cover. In search of something warm, I happened into a cozy and inviting coffee shop, filled with upholstered furniture and cats. I scanned the light menu, not knowing what among the offerings would satisfy my many cravings – thirst, warmth, sweet, savory? I ended up with a decadent selection of Fanta, hot cocoa, and chocolate mousse. I guess the chocolate craving won the day. 

The hot cocoa and chocolate provided some warmth and energy, though I was still pretty chilled and exhausted. After checking in, I went immediately to bed, wrapping myself in the duvet I took from the cupboard. Finally, I had found warmth and rest. 

A sunny spot to wait for check-in time
Heart 7 Comment 0
An inviting place on a blustery afternoon
Heart 6 Comment 0
I guess I wanted some chocolate
Heart 5 Comment 0
But what I really craved was a warm catnap
Heart 8 Comment 2
Rachael AndersonHaving a cat around helps almost as much as chocolate!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Susan CarpenterTo Rachael AndersonThough I’m not the cat person you are, I agree in this case
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 32 miles (51 km)
Total: 234 miles (377 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 15
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Suzanne GibsonWonderful pictures!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Susan CarpenterTo Suzanne GibsonThanks Suzanne
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Kathleen JonesOh dear. Take care of yourself. More cocoa for sure.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Rachael AndersonI’m so sorry you got sick!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago