The panic has subsided (for now) - Looping the Pyrenees - CycleBlaze

April 28, 2024

The panic has subsided (for now)

We leave in 4 days and I think I’ll be okay.  I hope.

It’s funny how, every time, I’m worried about something before I start a trip. This time it’s the climbing. Well, we are going to the Pyrenees, so climbing is expected. But have I bitten off too much this time?  Until Monday, six days ago, I hadn’t done a ride this year with even half the elevation gain we will have on our first leg.  But I did this Monday and now I feel better.  That said, it’s been raining or I had things to do so I haven’t been on my bike since. 

A hilly OAB from home.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Last week’s ride, of course, wasn’t loaded. We got a loaded ride in before that, a quick overnighter to visit Al’s brother Rob and our sister-in-law in Victoria.  The iffy weather meant we drove part (most) of the way to the ferry, but the headwind (both ways) meant it felt longer than it was. 

We don’t need much for one night away when we’re not camping, but I added a few things to help with training. Our sister-in-law, Lisa, sings in a choir and this year they sold cheese as a fundraiser.  The cheese is made locally on Vancouver Island and the price was reasonable, not to mention how much Rob and Lisa had spent on Scout popcorn over the years, so we ordered some, as did some friends here in North Vancouver.  I would provide pick-up and delivery.

Then, about halfway into Victoria, a call from our son. He and his wife had been searching for a child carrier that would fit Rachel (who’s my size, maybe) and provide some cargo space for the backpacking trips they’ve planned with baby Ryder. They’d identified the model that would work, but couldn’t find one to actually buy locally or online in Canada. I’d even tried ordering through the outdoor shop I work at one day a week, but the order had been cancelled by the vendor.  Rachel, however, had managed to find one at an outdoor store in Victoria—would we be able to pick it up because the shop wasn’t set up for online sales.  We’ll make it work, I said. 

We detoured through downtown Victoria to get the child carrier and Al wore it to ride to Rob & Lisa’s his house. Luckily not far and almost entirely on bike paths since he couldn’t wear the backpack *and* his helmet *and* see.
Heart 4 Comment 0

We had a pleasant visit (as always) and dinner at a pub, and the next day Rob and Lisa rode out to the ferry with us. For training purposes, I now had 1.8 kg of cheese in my panniers and a large child carrier on top. Mother Nature helped by providing a stiff headwind all the way to the Swartz Bay ferry terminal and continued from Tsawwassen to where we’d left the car in Ladner. At least it wasn’t raining!

Rob (orange), me (yellow), and Lisa (green and black) on the Lochside Trail
Heart 4 Comment 0
A closer look at that wind-catching load
Heart 3 Comment 0

The very next day, the backpack was put to use for Ryder’s very first backpacking trip. Perhaps her first bike trip will be this summer. 

At the trailhead. It’s a big backpack!
Heart 6 Comment 0
Ryder is cozy in the baby sleeping bag I picked up in Point Roberts.
Heart 8 Comment 1

Now to return to making the big decisions around what to pack for the likely weather conditions and dreading the jet lag. 

My new sports watch has a “jet lag advisor” and I put in the data for my trip a few days ago. So far I haven’t learned anything I didn’t already know.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Patrick O'HaraAh. Technology.
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Rachael AndersonIt’s been cold where we are in Spain. Hopefully, it won’t be too cold in the Pyrenees when you start riding! I hope the flight goes well.
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Rachael AndersonThanks, Rachael! You know we always bring our puffy jackets but the dither is whether to just bring tights (not waterproof but they’ve been adequate on our last few trips) or the soft-shell rain pants (bulkier to carry and often too warm while riding). I think the shoe covers will come along as we both hate wet shoes.
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Rachael AndersonTo Jacquie GaudetHope all goes well!
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Patrick O'HaraLooking forward to following along! Can't wait to re-live the infamous Pyrenean climbs and scenery through your trip. Tail winds! What an incredible region to cycle through.
Reply to this comment
1 week ago