The Grand Plan - Looping the Pyrenees - CycleBlaze

October 26, 2023

The Grand Plan

Back in 2016, Al and I both cycled the Pyrenees, but not together.  I rode solo from Barcelona to Bilbao, loosely following Team Anderson's route from their trip in 2014; my journal is here.  Al rode with his cycling group (Veni Velo Vici or VVV) from Biarritz to Girona.  I carried all my gear and camped, though I ate out, while Al's group paid the expenses of a couple of non-cycling relatives to drive a support vehicle, provide lunches on the road, etc., while they rode bigger distances on light road bikes.  We've both been wanting to go back...which brings us to the plan for spring 2024.

I've been reading other Cycleblazers' stories about their rides in the Spanish Pyrenees and want to go there too.  So I suggested my idea to Al.  (Al doesn't read journals, not even mine.  So theoretically I could say anything and he'd never know--unless one of his VVV buddies who does read these tells him.)

Al was keen because climbing is involved, though a bit concerned about Spanish mealtimes.  We will have to work out a food plan, since almost half our days will be in Spain!

So what did we (I) come up with?  Our usual ambitious days, due to my wanting to go everywhere and Al's not wanting to be away too long, of course!

Heart 2 Comment 3
Patrick O'HaraHey Jacquie. You might want to dip down to Oust and Seix and head towards Aulus-les-Bains and head over Col d'Agnes and over Port de Lers. This was a beautiful area and well worth exploring. Col d'Agnes alone is well worth it. Looks like an amazing trip.
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Patrick O'HaraOoh! I've added a day ride from Biert (which I'd selected as a stop due to the presence of an interesting-looking cyclist accommodation, Les Deux Velos. And an alternative route to St-Lary. It's such a beautiful area! And of course I want to see everything! Poor Al, this trip is getting longer and longer.
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Jacquie GaudetI agree with Patrick on this. It’s a wonderful cycling area, even given that Col d’Agness is where Rachel and I lost each other for a scary period of time.
Reply to this comment
6 months ago

I've created a few options (alternatives), usually when the preferred route includes some dirt or gravel which we may or may not want to do on the day.  Rain + dirt = mud, so that's one reason!  I've also included a few day rides, generally those without numbers and usually called "day ride" or "loop" or OAB.  Most of these are in the high Pyrenees and are rides we'd really prefer to do unloaded.  Actually, it would be great to do the entire trip unloaded, but that's not in the budget!

I dithered quite a bit about the eastern part of the loop.  It just seemed a shame to go all the way to the Mediterranean and not ride at least some of the spectacular coast.  Kathleen Classen's photos made the decision easy.  Thanks, Kathleen!

So, I'm putting this out there in case anyone wants to offer feedback.  I know it's ambitious, but there are some rest days planned.  There's also a lot of climbing, but we live in a not-flat part of the world (and RWGPS elevation gain numbers are almost always higher than reality, in our experience).

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 11
Steve Miller/GrampiesWe found the Spanish mealtimes too out of sync with our systems so we mostly went to grocery stores and ate prepared sandwiches, etc. The very few times we ate in a restaurant we ate their midday (around 2 to 3 pm) meal, and snacked earlier and later as needed. It seemed to work for us.
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Steve Miller/GrampiesI'm hoping to be able to do the mid-afternoon menú del día most days as our main meal. What has happened in the past is by the time we are checked in and cleaned up, we've missed the window for a proper meal. I like the Andersons' approach, eat first, but Al may take some convincing. He will still need more than a snack in the evening, though.
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Scott AndersonThis looks like a terrific route in general, full of places I’d love to see again. I especially like that you’re going over the Hourquette d’Ancizan.

I’ve got a couple of suggestions you might consider though. First, I’d start in Bilbao rather than Biarritz and in fact wouldn’t go to Biarritz at all. It struck us as just a big name touristy hotspot and and the coast between there and Saint Jean de Luz felt pretty featureless - but that’s us, and that’s pretty old news too at this point. Seeing the Fenwicks’ description of it from last week didn’t change my mind on it though. Instead, I’d cut west toward Saint Jean de Luz from somewhere inland, maybe by way of Espelette and Saint Pee Sur Nivelle.

Secondly, I might think again about following the Mediterranean coastline between Collioure and La Selva. I know the Classens just rode it and it’s definitely spectacular, but it’s also pretty exposed without any real bailout options. They went at a pretty quiet time of year and I’d be anxious about how much worse the traffic might be at the time it looks like you’re considering.

Well, and one more thought. I like your route through Navarre and Aragón, but you might rethink your overnights and stay in Olite and Sos del Rey Catolico instead of Sanguesa.

The Pyrenees are so amazing. Wherever you land, I’m sure it will be incredible.
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Jacquie GaudetBiarritz is for Al. He and the VVV guys started from there, he loved it, and he's been wanting to go back ever since. As for boring coast on the first part of day 1, that's okay by us. It's a warm-up for Jaizkibel. Al and his buddies abandoned the climb on their day ride from Biarritz due to weather.

I think we'll be okay on the coast road. I've now created an inland alternative route just in case and we can get a better idea of traffic levels when we're there. Early morning is always an option.

Thanks for the suggestion on Olite and Sos del Rey Catolico. I will revise the plan!
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Keith ClassenI hope “The Grand Plan” works out for you two. Would like to do some more of the Pyrenees as we kind of skirted them this trip. Our route down the coast from Collioure to El Port was fine when we did it (October) but would likely be very busy mid summer. He had a good shoulder most of the way. We took the hard way from El Port de La Selva to Figueres but glad we did. There are a couple alternatives. Will be a fun to follow you guys. What time of year are you planning to go?
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Keith ClassenThe plan is to start near the beginning of May so we get to the high Pyrenees in early June. We would be on the Mediterranean coast around the end of May. It all depends on flights, which we aren't quite ready to book yet.
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Rachael AndersonI’m with Al about meals! What we did is ate our big meal at lunch and had tapas and it worked great. They usually serve lunch as late as 3:30 to 4 pm.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Rachael AndersonWe often had a late lunch in Andalusia, but then Al wanted dinner too! I think he has two hollow legs.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Rachael AndersonTo Jacquie GaudetThat definitely makes it more challenging!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
CHRISTOPHER JAMESAgree with you re: RWGPS in Europe. In my experience, it's about 1/3 higher than actual. And it gives you some crazy climb percentages. For examples, both in the Pyrenees, it failed to account for the tunnel at Mas D'Azil grotto (on the way to Foix) and had a waypoint 200 meters above that point with some insane like 50% climb. Another was near Azat, going up to climb Col de Pailhaires (sp?). There's a gorge you ride through at a nominal slope of 1-3%. RWGPS put in a 35% climb in that section.

The RWGPS accuracy is much better in the US, though it tried to take my wife and I into a cement plant near Corvallis, OR, and on a dirt track into the Centralia, WA coal plant (even though I chose "paved only".

Since I've been biking a lot in France, I use Openrunner, which has a great mapping system, and easy to import to a GPS device (Garmin or Wahoo).
Reply to this comment
5 days ago
Jacquie GaudetTo CHRISTOPHER JAMESInteresting. I rode Mas d’Azil on my previous Pyrenees trip but that was back when I was still learning how to use my Garmin and RWGPS.

These days, I just use RWGPS elevation gains as upper limits when planning.
Reply to this comment
5 days ago